New stair tool

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Maykow

New stair tool

Post by Maykow »

I don't know if this is the ideal place for this topic, or if I should post in ‘Python scripting and macros’, but here we go.
My name is Maykow Menezes, I am a Civil Engineer specializing in structures, and I am Brazilian.
I recently started a project for a tool for modeling stairs, which was more complete than the one on the BIM bench, in order to have more options and make its use more intuitive.
I saw the need for this tool from conversations I had with the staff of the FreeCAD Brasil group on Telegram.
By combining some geometric parameters you can completely change the design of the stairs. It is possible to model with just a few clicks straight stairs, L-stairs U-stairs with two or three flights, and even spiral and curved stairs.
It is also possible to change the design of the steps, among the options are common step closed at the bottom, common step open at the bottom, hollow steps (without mirror) and stairs with pleated type steps.
I am currently implementing the modeling of the stringers and still need to implement the handrails, initially I want to implement 4 handrail models, then if necessary I will implement more models. If we calculate the possibilities of possible combinations of all parameters with a finite number of possibilities (parameters such as shape, model, type of step…) it will be possible to model more than 330 different types of stairs, 336 to be exact, for each new configuration option added to the code this number grow .
Yorik was interested in implementing my code in the WB BIM ladder tool, for me it will be an honor to have a script running on the BIM workbench.
Well, that's it for now, let there be what you think about it, or what you want implemented in the ladder tool or other WB BIM tools.