Remove component from draft or sketch

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby rockn » Fri Nov 07, 2014 9:35 pm

Hi Yorik,
Do you think it's possible to have a feature that allow to remove component to an arch object from a sketch. Like pocket in Part Design.
In writing this I imagine that this demand that the operation would be managed in the Components feature of the Arch object.

This feature can allow that all machining operation can be linked (face and external geometries) to the arch object and so move with the parent arch object. This also allow to keep the Arch object to be a parent of all machining operation.

I know that this is principaly for wood construction modeling.
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11642
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby yorik » Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:34 pm

You can already add an object to the "Subtractions" property of an arch object. That will create the subtraction. But the subtracted object won't move when the host object is moved. At the moment, only windows will move together with their host.

But now, I have an idea that could be cool: Why not add an additional property to all arch objects, that would define if they must be moved together with their host object or not. That property would be turned on by default for windows, but you could then apply that behaviour to any other arch object.

Would that serve for what you are thinking?
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby rockn » Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:46 pm

Yeah, it's an interesting approach. :D
I will make some picture and experiment to show what I am thinking.
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby rockn » Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:26 pm

So, what I imagine it's a feature that allow to do this :
I have a timber (Structure) with an addition (Tenon), this tenon have to make a substraction in the other timber (Structure001), but it have to be a little bigger, so I add substraction (Mortaise) to Structure001.
What could be awesome is that when I move Structure, Tenon move with him (that correspond to the idea you explain to me), and Mortaise move also with him. That say that we have to define what object we want that move with other, and not only with their host.
WoodAssembly.fcstd
(16 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
WoodAssembly.png
WoodAssembly.png (46.01 KiB) Viewed 2512 times
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11642
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby yorik » Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:38 pm

Hmm that's a little bit more complicated. At the moment I'm not sure how we can make an "external" object move together with another one... And also there is the fact that the assembly module will provide tools specially for that...

But maybe we can find a provisory solution, I must think a bit more...
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby rockn » Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:41 pm

yorik wrote:Hmm that's a little bit more complicated.
Yes, I think too. And you're right, assembly module can provide this.
Of course the move object with their host it's already a good idea.
Thanks
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11642
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby yorik » Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:51 pm

Okay, I'll already implement the first idea, then we see... issue #1820
mghansen256
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:37 am

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby mghansen256 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:09 pm

I think the problem is similar to this one where a sketch and the parent objects are supposed to be moved together, and a macro is proposed that selects all parent objects so they can be moved. I am using this macro now when moving unions/subtractions of parts, and it also works fine on moving structures that you describe here, like an arch structure object with a base object and an addition/subtraction.

Perhaps this can be made an option for Draft::Move, to always move the parent objects instead of the derived objects? Edit->Duplicate for example also asks whether it should duplicate dependencies when you duplicate a part union.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11642
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby yorik » Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:13 pm

mghansen256 wrote:Perhaps this can be made an option for Draft::Move, to always move the parent objects instead of the derived objects? Edit->Duplicate for example also asks whether it should duplicate dependencies when you duplicate a part union.
IMHO this would introduce much more headache than it would solve. And it is very important, I think, that the draft move moves only the selected objects, otherwise many people will not understand what happens under the hood. Besides, all objects keep very clear the difference between moving a "parent" and a "child" object, and react accordingly (or prevent one of them, if needed, as PartDesign does).

Yesterday I committed a change that I believe will be pretty powerful: All Arch objects now have a "Move With Host" property that, if set to True, will make them move together with any parent Arch object they are included in. So the user has precise control over what he wants to obtain.

Note that this "grouped move" at the moment will only happen if you use Draft Move or Draft Rotate. Changing the Placement will not move the children (yet. I must still figure out a way to handle Placement changes more reliably)
User avatar
CAD_Challenged
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:32 am

Re: Remove component from draft or sketch

Postby CAD_Challenged » Tue Oct 08, 2019 2:49 am

Is there approach to moving Subtractions with Arch Structure?

Subtractions represent cuts to beam. Subtractions appear to have rotated with beams when using Draft Rotate. Want to move beams such that bottom faces are on same plane. Subtractions to not appear to follow moves of beam.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Attachments
roof_20191006_v01.FCStd
(16.97 KiB) Downloaded 9 times