SlopedPlanesMacro

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7332
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:49 pm

furti wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:53 pm
Looks like the dev turned it in to a macro instead of a workbench.
I'm thinking about removing the workbench and adding the macro to the FreeCAD-macros repo...what do you think ?
Maybe we can set up a mirror at freecad macros for it ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
furti
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby furti » Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:58 am

As far as i can see it is still the same as before?
https://gitlab.com/damianCaceres/slopedplanes

A combination of macro and workbench?

But when it is possible to get gitlab repositories into the addon manager, it would be good to get the code of the original author.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7332
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:11 pm

furti wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:58 am
As far as i can see it is still the same as before?
https://gitlab.com/damianCaceres/slopedplanes

A combination of macro and workbench?
true
furti wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:58 am
But when it is possible to get gitlab repositories into the addon manager, it would be good to get the code of the original author.
I haven't experimented with it yet. I'm not sure github will allow it. We may need to do a 3 way mirror

Code: Select all

gitlab -> local machine -> github 
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
vocx
Posts: 3988
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby vocx » Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:42 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:11 pm
...
I haven't experimented with it yet. I'm not sure github will allow it. We may need to do a 3 way mirror

Code: Select all

gitlab -> local machine -> github 
The new Addon Manager in 0.19 allows setting custom repositories, does it not? Wouldn't that work?
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7332
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:49 pm

vocx wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:42 pm
The new Addon Manager in 0.19 allows setting custom repositories, does it not? Wouldn't that work?
Good point, I forgot about that. That needs testing.
I'm not in front of my machine. If anyone is willing to test it out, let me know. Or else I can try later
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7332
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:53 pm

Tried and it doesn't seem like the feature to add non github repos is working here.
and the addon installs but not as a workbench, just as a macro. And the macro executes but doesn't do anything, AFAICT.
Need to explore more.

What I do notice is that the addonmanager logic isn't able to pull the description from the gitlab repo.
I'll x-post this to the relevant thread soon.

Image


OS: Manjaro Linux (XFCE/xfce)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18213 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 22babc09954ac6fda9135ee71d68550921659b1c
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7332
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:16 pm

Can anyone test the macro with the new repo ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
kisolre
Posts: 2108
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby kisolre » Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:14 pm

Code: Select all

Unable to retrieve addon description

Addon repository: https://gitlab.com/damianCaceres/slopedplanes
in addon manager and

Code: Select all

Debug: addonmanager_utilities.getReadmeUrl: Unknown git host: https://gitlab.com/damianCaceres/slopedplanes
Debug: README not found for https://gitlab.com/damianCaceres/slopedplanes
Debug: README not found at None
Debug: addonmanager_utilities.getDescRegex: Unknown git host: https://gitlab.com/damianCaceres/slopedplanes
copying macro: SlopedPlanes.FCMacro
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "E:\New Download\FreeCAD\_FreeCAD_x64\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_workers.py", line 611, in run
    utils.symlink(os.path.join(clonedir, f), os.path.join(macro_dir, f))
  File "E:\New Download\FreeCAD\_FreeCAD_x64\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_utilities.py", line 72, in symlink
    os_symlink(source, link_name)
OSError: symbolic link privilege not held
in report view after trying to install.

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18213 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 22babc09954ac6fda9135ee71d68550921659b1c
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Bulgarian/Bulgaria (bg_BG)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7332
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:45 pm

Thanks, that's odd. I didn't see anything in the report window. is there a debug flag I need to enable somewhere?
Looks like there is a readme file:
https://gitlab.com/damianCaceres/sloped ... /README.md
I also see it in my local .FreeCAD dir:

Code: Select all

~/.FreeCAD/Mod/slopedplanes/README.md
So I wonder why it can't find the README ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
galou_breizh
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:38 am

Re: SlopedPlanesMacro

Postby galou_breizh » Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:14 pm

I think that the reason why the SlopedPlanes macro was added through https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-addons rather than https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-macros was that the Addon-Manager had no support for macros over multiple files. This has been solved in the mean time, so that this macro could be moved to the official macro repository.

Gaël