School Project: Bug Zapper

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Liu768382

School Project: Bug Zapper

Post by Liu768382 »

Hi everyone. I am a student attending Singapore American School attending a class called Catalyst. In this class, we are given the opportunity to pursue a passion and create a project that we have a personal interest in. My project is a CAD design of a Bug Zapper, which I tried to design with the thought of having a product that is aesthetically pleasing and safe.
Features of this Bug Zapper
Safety Features

The two main safety concern of every bug zapper is on hygiene/disease and the dangers of electrocution. Features that concern this includes:

-There is an un-electrified fence right in front of the electrified one, do not put your finger through the un-electrified fence while the device is on. Do not come in contact with the electrified fence when the device is on.

-The electrified fence is covered on all sides except the opening, this will minimise scattering as the bug parts will be contained within the vessel.

-The bottom flap of the opening is recommended to be held at an able above 60 degrees on the horizontal plane. This would help block scattering while also remain open for bugs to enter the device. The flap is made short enough to not invite a multitude of bugs to set up camp.

-The bottom is removable to aid in the cleansing of the device. Only remove the bottom when the device is turned off. It is recommended that you clean out the device frequently. Wipe down and disinfect every surface inside and out. Remove the bottom, empty it out then clean and disinfect. Clean the area around the bug zapper and remove all bug corpses. This should maintain the hygiene and reduce the risk of disease being transmitted.