Making CNC Machine

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Hely

Making CNC Machine

Post by Hely »

Hello
I am very new to feeCAD, but with some study and youtube I have improved.
Now I am designing a CNC machine. Obviously in freeCAD. Some parts will be made in a creative 3D printer. Other parts are metal, the electronics made in China (obviously)
The workbench size of the CNC machine is 90 x 90 cm.
I use 3 engines nema 23.

jmaustpc
Veteran

Re: Making CNC Machine

Post by jmaustpc »

Welcome to FreeCAD! Great first post, you look like you are making great progress.

Could you please, especially for future reference for this topic, include your FreeCAD version data for the FreeCAD version that you used for this project? How to do so is explained in the link above the Help forum "Forum Rules" or something like that. You get this summary from a FreeCAD tool in accessed from the Help menu. Also please tell us what if any FreeCAD "add ons" or third party workbenches etc. that you might have used.

Your CNC looks interesting. Are you going to mount a router head or laser or something else to it?
Hely

Another day of work

Post by Hely »

Hello World

I have decided not to use the Chinese 5 axis board.
Instead I will use Arduino + GRBL.
Now I am developing a program in Visual Basic 6, which will be in charge of sending the commands to the Arduino. I hope to connect a Joystik (video game) and a small Android App for manual control of the CNC machine.
I wish that an interface can be made from Corel Draw, for the cutting of flat figures, I have already done some for a small laser cutting machine.

I am looking forward to trying FreeCad Path workbench. But all in time.
Some parts, brackets, joints, etc. need to be designed in FreeCad.

I will be showing and telling you the progress of the project.
jmaustpc
Veteran

Post by jmaustpc »

Hely wrote: Sun Aug 04, 2019 1:07 amArduino + GRBL