SolidWorks Model Mania Challenge

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Acrophobic

SolidWorks Model Mania Challenge

Postby Acrophobic » Thu Nov 26, 2020 11:20 am

Hi everyone,

It's been months since I started learning FreeCAD and CAD in general by doing SolidWorks Model Mania Challenge. Finally, after several questions and countless times trying, nowadays I think I'm quite proficient on using PartDesign workbench 8-) (as in I'm not as confused as before and could Google the problem properly).

For the last few weeks I've got a lot of free time so I decided to properly do all the Model Mania challenge from 2000 to 2020. Right now I'm already in 2008 which means I already finished a third of the challenge, so I decided to share it here. Along the way, I've learned many thing, but also confused about several issues. If you could explain to me about those issues, please do tell me.

By the way, here is my FreeCAD data:

Code: Select all

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22665 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: b0d7850406e046f3b7a8cd5da261e7d54df6bd99
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Model Mania Challenge 2000
Files | Screencast

The first challenge, quite straightforward and easy to do. Only have problems when filleting the edges, which is why I didn't do the 2nd phase.

What I learned:
  • There is known issue where fillet might not work (which apparently happened because of OpenSCAD rather than FreeCAD).
  • Because of the first point, FC often crashes when filleting, so make sure to save and pray before doing it.
  • There is known issue about topological naming problem. I found it when all hole sketches that I made are moving around when I made some change in 2nd phase of the challenge.
Model Mania Challenge 2001
Files | Screencast