My First "real" project in FreeCAD - Simracing Steering Wheel Button Plate

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
tom_hampton

My First "real" project in FreeCAD - Simracing Steering Wheel Button Plate

Post by tom_hampton »

Hi All-

I'm new to FreeCAD, and new to general purpose parametric modeling. I've used various purpose built CAD packages over the years for various things: cabinetry, house building/remodeling, landscaping, etc. I'm an electrical engineer by trade. But, this is my first foray into this world.

I bought a 3D printer (Creality CR-10) back in January. Partly for the fun of it, and partly to create parts for my other hobby Simracing.

I'm to the point now that I can generally create any part that I have a need to, including some limited boolean operation based parts. That's not to say that I can create *ANY* part...just the ones I've had a need to dream up.

So, my project is to create a button plate for my simracing steering wheel system. Basically its a plate to allow me to activate various simracing functions while not removing my hands from the wheel using switches of various types. Its still a work in progress, and I've used it to try and learn certain features of FreeCAD as I go.

I'm currently using RealThunder's Linkstage3 branch, and updated to 0301 version today.
wheelplate.png
wheelplate.png (209.88 KiB) Viewed 4204 times
wheel_parts.png
wheel_parts.png (23.84 KiB) Viewed 4204 times
The switches are STEP files from NKK for the parts I plan to use to build it. The padel shifters are also STEP files from the parts I'm using off of Thingaverse. Everything else is modeled in partdesign. Here's an exploded view:
exploded.png
exploded.png (172.46 KiB) Viewed 4204 times