Fillet Challenge / Problem

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
tom_p

Fillet Challenge / Problem

Post by tom_p »

Dear FreeCad Community
Background:
i am totally new to FreeCad, but i used many different parametric CAD Software. I am mostly using Rhino 3d, that is not parametric in the sense of Body-Sketch-Feature. I am teaching CAD-Modelling with Rhino on different schools / Universities. Currently I search / evaluate different CAD-Packages to show to the students as addition. - The focus should be parametric / solid Modelling and one of the benefits i was hoping - better filleting. I like Freecad because it s easy available and i do not want to support those giant big brands that will charge a lot after the students leave university.

Question:
For an exame / test i designed the following part - as soon as someone understands / "sees" the underlaying geometry, the easiest way is to use surfaces / revolves / extrusions and trim and join everything together. But i wold love to see a solid-based workflow, that uses 3 simple bodies, fillets, boolean union / fusion, more fillets.
handle_2022.pdf
(705.25 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
Already with the first fillet R6 - that would delete / kill an entire face i struggled.
I stopped modelling as soon as the second fillet after boolean -> Fillet003-should_be_R15 - did not work with the intend size.
I understand there is again a surface that complete disappears - other CAD (Creo for example, not Rhino) manage to do this kind of Fillet.

thanks for some Feedback / Advice / or even solution / or comment on the Filleting-Power of Freecad.

kind regards from Zürich / Switzerland - Tom

(sorry i just notice this is the wrong category - is it possible to change this post to the "help" category ? how ?)
Attachments