Adding Fonts

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Efefay
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:11 pm

Adding Fonts

Postby Efefay » Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:16 pm

I'm using FreeCAD as a substitute for Solidworks but I still want to use Solidwork's default font (which is Century Gothic).

After going to "Edit > Preferences > TechDraw", I can't find Century Gothic. How do I add more fonts to this list?

Edit: Maybe a better question would be, "Where is the file location for the list of fonts?"
Last edited by Efefay on Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
PrzemoF
Posts: 2158
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Fonts

Postby PrzemoF » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:55 pm

Welcome to the forum! Please provide more info (red banner at the top). I'm sure that adding fonts is system dependent.
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 4635
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Adding Fonts

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:06 pm

Install this font type to your operating system.
https://www.startpage.com/do/search?q=f ... y+Gothic&l
Efefay
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:11 pm

Re: Adding Fonts

Postby Efefay » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:46 pm

freecad-heini-1 wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:06 pm
Install this font type to your operating system.
https://www.startpage.com/do/search?q=f ... y+Gothic&l
Solidworks pulls fonts from a Windows OS font folder.
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 4635
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Adding Fonts

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:56 pm

Efefay wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:46 pm
freecad-heini-1 wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:06 pm
Install this font type to your operating system.
https://www.startpage.com/do/search?q=f ... y+Gothic&l
Solidworks pulls fonts from a Windows OS font folder.
Great! :lol:
User avatar
PrzemoF
Posts: 2158
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Fonts

Postby PrzemoF » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:06 pm

Efefay wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:46 pm
freecad-heini-1 wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:06 pm
Install this font type to your operating system.
https://www.startpage.com/do/search?q=f ... y+Gothic&l
Solidworks pulls fonts from a Windows OS font folder.
That's not the info we need :D Read the top of the page banner. Now we know you use windows, so I won't be any help for you (fedora linux is my OS of choice).
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 4496
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Adding Fonts

Postby sgrogan » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:25 pm

Efefay wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:46 pm
Solidworks pulls fonts from a Windows OS font folder.
See here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 74#p239218