How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

A forum dedicated to the Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
Moult
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:46 am
Contact:

How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby Moult » Sun Jan 13, 2019 4:41 am

I have been using a draft wire to create a wall. This creates walls which have good clean wall joins that are great for conceptual design. I would like to then delete just a single line (i.e. a single wall) of the draft wire that parametrically creates the wall. I don't know how to do this. I have experimented with the following approach.

Copy the draft wire, then explode (DN) into a non parametric shape, then explode again (DN) into its individual non parametric edges, then convert to sketch objects, then delete the original edges, then convert the sketches into draft lines, and then recreate the walls again. I have to recreate the walls from scratch because I cannot just "replace" the original wire with my new multiple split wires. I have tried double clicking the wall in the tree but I cannot "add" more wires to the base component. I guess it only accepts one.

This sounds like a very tedious approach. Perhaps I am misunderstanding the intended workflow.
I also blog about 3D rendering, architecture, software and other on thinkMoult.com. RSS / Atom feed available for your convenience.
chrisb
Posts: 12660
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby chrisb » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:09 am

Moved to Arch forum.
Roy_043
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby Roy_043 » Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:43 am

There is a strange issue when you explode a Draft wire. Probably related to the double function of the Explode button.

Scenario A:
Select a wire, a rectangle and a line.
Click the Explode button.
Result: only edges.

Scenario B:
Select only a wire.
Click the Explode button.
Result: A non-parametric copy of the wire (but the original wire is not parametric? And the original is gone, so this is not a copy action?)
You have to use Explode again to get edges.

Scenario C:
Select only a rectangle.
Click the Explode button.
Result: only edges (why not an intermediate 'copy' item here?).
paullee
Posts: 1121
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby paullee » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:13 am

Can't help on 'parametrically' splitting a wire.

For 'replacing wire' of an Arch Wall, pls see

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 28#p279928
User avatar
Moult
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:46 am
Contact:

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby Moult » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:08 am

I think there is a misunderstanding here. Here is a closed rectangle draft wire that I have used to create a wall object from. As you can see, it joins together as is expected. How do I now delete just one edge of that wall, but keep the other 3 edges?

With a sketch object, it is easy - I just edit the sketch and delete one line! With a draft wire ... if I double click it to edit I can only move vertices?
2019-01-15-220639_1381x458_scrot.png
2019-01-15-220639_1381x458_scrot.png (45.12 KiB) Viewed 149 times
I also blog about 3D rendering, architecture, software and other on thinkMoult.com. RSS / Atom feed available for your convenience.
Roy_043
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby Roy_043 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:48 am

A wall seems to accept only a single Draft base object. But you can replace that object.

I don't know if this is the best solution for your case:
1. Explode the rectangle.
2. Select the edges that have to remain and click the Draft Upgrade button to create a new wire.
3. Change the Base property of the wall to the new wire.

But I am beginning to think that for this kind of flexibility basing walls on sketches is the obvious choice.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10469
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby yorik » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:01 pm

Yes, two different directions:

- Sketches are very powerful, complex, you can edit them at will, constrain, remove pieces, etc. But they are also more subject to toponaming problems
- Draft objects are way more simple, less editable, but more solid against toponaming issues

Some cases require one type, other cases are best with the other.
User avatar
regis
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby regis » Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:52 am

indeed at this point your best solution would be to replace the base draftwire line you used to create the wall. So I would not worry about explodes features, if need to redraw the wire even ontop of the regrouped exploded wire so that you have a clean shape that has a simple clean name and have all nodes of the draft wire reconnected properly, which will avoid confusing the wall.
Pictures are not exactly in the right order. but start from the bottom up.
Attachments
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-49-50.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-49-50.png (237.62 KiB) Viewed 103 times
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-49-29.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-49-29.png (249.5 KiB) Viewed 103 times
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-49-09.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-49-09.png (215.63 KiB) Viewed 103 times
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-48-49.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-48-49.png (236.02 KiB) Viewed 103 times
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-48-30.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-48-30.png (213.94 KiB) Viewed 103 times
User avatar
regis
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby regis » Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:59 am

Now if you put things in the wall, and change the wall, it will not delete things in that part of the wall that is missing from the updates. And by defaut the windows are set to move with with host, so if you move the wall the windows will also move with the wall, except there might be some unexpected behaviour aswell.
Attachments
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-57-08.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-57-08.png (270.18 KiB) Viewed 102 times
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-55-33.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-55-33.png (279.15 KiB) Viewed 102 times
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-54-56.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-54-56.png (268.19 KiB) Viewed 102 times
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-54-19.png
Screenshot from 2019-01-15 19-54-19.png (275.96 KiB) Viewed 102 times
User avatar
Moult
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:46 am
Contact:

Re: How do I split / explode a wall / draft wire?

Postby Moult » Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:52 pm

I see. It sounds as though if I use sketches, I can indeed easily modify just a portion of the wall. However it seems as though if I use draft lines, I have to replace the base wire.

I'm quite puzzled. Replacing the base wire is not a speedy operation. When doing architectural modeling, deleting a single wall, shift a single wall, split a single wall, or rotate a single wall is something we do all the time. Literally hundreds of times a day. Designs change and sometimes we have to experiment in 3D. Having to redraw and replace a base wire each time is not practical.

In Blender, it is easy to grab a portion of a mesh and cut it, move it, or rotate it. In Revit, I can trim, extend, rotate, move, delete, and join a portion of a wall. I have seen co-workers do similar in ArchiCAD.

In FreeCAD, I notice that although Sketcher WB allows for quick drawing and deleting single lines, it is missing tools like trim / extend and rotate. These tools are vital! It is also missing the ability for me to grab a single line and move it say 5000mm up the page.

With draft lines, I have this flexibility but only if I split each line segment into its own wall object. And once I do that, I do not get clean wall joins.

Can somebody please upload a brief video demonstrating how they rapidly create, move, rotate, join, and split walls? Perhaps that might clear things up and help me understand the intended workflow.
I also blog about 3D rendering, architecture, software and other on thinkMoult.com. RSS / Atom feed available for your convenience.