Drilling hole in part

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
speo
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:29 pm

Re: Drilling hole in part

Postby speo » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:20 pm

OK, this is not funny anymore :)

I created a body, a sketch, draw new circles on the sketch and tried to create pockets (throughout) or holes with the new circles or cylinders. All that is happening is my circles and cylinders are disappearing, but no cuts or holes are visible.
Attachments
pocket.jpg
pocket.jpg (118.61 KiB) Viewed 65 times
kisolre
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Drilling hole in part

Postby kisolre » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:22 pm

speo wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 5:54 pm
I cannot upload the FCStd file due to size (20 megs) , but I uploaded a snapshot of my screen with one cut that I made. The cylinder I cut is gone, but there is no hole in the disk.
Might be that you still have the imported STL visible? Mesh to shell and shell to solid create separate overlapping objects...
.
VisibleMesh.JPG
VisibleMesh.JPG (15.01 KiB) Viewed 64 times
speo
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:29 pm

Re: Drilling hole in part

Postby speo » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:30 pm

The imported STL still visible was the problem. As soon as I deleted it, it worked like a charm.

Thank you all for the answers and the patience.
Attachments
problem_solved.jpg
solved
problem_solved.jpg (96.76 KiB) Viewed 58 times
TheMarkster
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: Drilling hole in part

Postby TheMarkster » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:44 pm

061-screenshot.png
061-screenshot.png (133.26 KiB) Viewed 47 times
phpBB [video]
Attachments
061_working_with_imported_mesh.FCStd
(593.15 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
My FreeCAD video series on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... GEBlLshYGa
speo
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:29 pm

Re: Drilling hole in part

Postby speo » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:15 pm

@TheMarkster: thank you so much.
chrisb
Posts: 22333
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Drilling hole in part

Postby chrisb » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:16 am

speo wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:30 pm
The imported STL still visible was the problem. As soon as I deleted it, it worked like a charm.
Just for the sake of completeness: You must not use something from inside of a body in a Part boolean operation, as you did with the BaseFeature, use the whole body instead. Here the solution is even simpler: The BaseFeature comes from the outside and you want to use it in the outside. Then you don't need the body at all. Perform the operation on the source of the BaseFeature directly.