[Fixed] Segfaults when using "Make a thick solid" tool

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16315
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Segfaults when using "Make a thick solid" tool

Postby wmayer » Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:28 am

2. The operation will fail, if not, make something that cannot be computed and
It doesn't matter if the thickness can be computed or not. E.g. you can create a standard PD box and select one of its faces. The thickness tool is able to succeed the operation but when clicking on Cancel the application crashes, too.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16315
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Segfaults when using "Make a thick solid" tool

Postby wmayer » Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:42 am

This fixes the crash: git commit ff0f8b0d8
realthunder
Posts: 1728
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Segfaults when using "Make a thick solid" tool

Postby realthunder » Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:06 pm

wmayer wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:42 am
This fixes the crash: git commit ff0f8b0d8
I also did a fix, but then found out that you've beat me to it.

I also fixed another minor problem and submitted a PR here. It happened when I test the file attached here. The property editor did a redundant recompute when closing a transaction that is opened by the part design task panel.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16315
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Segfaults when using "Make a thick solid" tool

Postby wmayer » Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:56 am

I also fixed another minor problem and submitted a PR here. It happened when I test the file attached here.
I have observed this behaviour too and each time you switch from Tree/Property view to the Task view a recompute was performed. With the very small attached test project from Leo it took 2s in the debug mode. So, thanks for the quick fix.
leoheck
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: Segfaults when using "Make a thick solid" tool

Postby leoheck » Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:15 am

And thanks for all the fixes, you are great guys.