Use a LCS created in a body in a part for assembly

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
run_the_race
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:22 pm

Use a LCS created in a body in a part for assembly

Postby run_the_race » Tue May 04, 2021 10:25 am

I have a part called Foo_PART.

Inside Foo_PART is:
- Foo_BODY
- Foo_SPREADSHEET

Inside Foo_BODY is:
- Subshapebinder object
- Foo_LCS (local co-ordinate system) which depends on the shapebinder object

Now I have an assembly (Assembly4 WB) that I link Foo_PART into. To position Foo_PART I require Foo_LCS. However if:
  1. Foo_LCS is in Foo_BODY, then the assembly can't see the Foo_LCS.
  2. So then I move Foo_LCS out of Foo_BODY and into Foo_PART. Then it gets broken and is no longer linked to the Subshapebinder object.
  3. If I try make a new LCS for Foo_PART, then it is in the dettached state and does not work during assembly.


So how does one use a Foo_LCS in a body, in its containing part as well?

SIDE NOTE: If it helps I attached "touchscreen_7inch.FCStd" which has the "touchscreen_7inch PART" I am trying to use in an assembly. "pcb_mount_gpio1_bottom LCS" is the LCS I am trying to use for the assembly.
lcs.png
lcs.png (15.9 KiB) Viewed 238 times

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2004
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24276 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-19
Hash: a88db11e0a908f6e38f92bfc5187b13ebe470438
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.1
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
Attachments
touchscreen_7inch.FCStd
(340.1 KiB) Not downloaded yet
run_the_race
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:22 pm

Re: Use a LCS created in a body in a part for assembly

Postby run_the_race » Wed May 05, 2021 10:14 pm

Any workarounds to this problem?
chrisb
Posts: 34282
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Use a LCS created in a body in a part for assembly

Postby chrisb » Wed May 05, 2021 11:03 pm

run_the_race wrote:
Wed May 05, 2021 10:14 pm
Any workarounds to this problem?
Moved to Assembly forum.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Use a LCS created in a body in a part for assembly

Postby Zolko » Thu May 06, 2021 12:37 pm

run_the_race wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 10:25 am
  1. Foo_LCS is in Foo_BODY, then the assembly can't see the Foo_LCS.
  2. So then I move Foo_LCS out of Foo_BODY and into Foo_PART. Then it gets broken and is no longer linked to the Subshapebinder object.
  3. If I try make a new LCS for Foo_PART, then it is in the dettached state and does not work during assembly.


So how does one use a Foo_LCS in a body, in its containing part as well?
yes, this is a recurring request, I have to implement it. This will be part of a next update, please stay tuned.

As a workaround, you can create an LCS in the Part, and attach it to elements in the Body. This will give you "Links go out of allowed scope " warnings that you can safely ignore IF you didn't change the Placement of the Body in the Part.
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
run_the_race
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:22 pm

Re: Use a LCS created in a body in a part for assembly

Postby run_the_race » Thu May 06, 2021 1:35 pm

Zolko wrote:
Thu May 06, 2021 12:37 pm
run_the_race wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 10:25 am
  1. Foo_LCS is in Foo_BODY, then the assembly can't see the Foo_LCS.
  2. So then I move Foo_LCS out of Foo_BODY and into Foo_PART. Then it gets broken and is no longer linked to the Subshapebinder object.
  3. If I try make a new LCS for Foo_PART, then it is in the dettached state and does not work during assembly.


So how does one use a Foo_LCS in a body, in its containing part as well?
yes, this is a recurring request, I have to implement it. This will be part of a next update, please stay tuned.

As a workaround, you can create an LCS in the Part, and attach it to elements in the Body. This will give you "Links go out of allowed scope " warnings that you can safely ignore IF you didn't change the Placement of the Body in the Part.
Ah okay I see, thank you for the context, I thought I was doing something wrong.
run_the_race
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:22 pm

Re: Use a LCS created in a body in a part for assembly

Postby run_the_race » Thu May 06, 2021 1:36 pm

chrisb wrote:
Wed May 05, 2021 11:03 pm
run_the_race wrote:
Wed May 05, 2021 10:14 pm
Any workarounds to this problem?
Moved to Assembly forum.
Thanks Chris!