Boolean Intersection no longer working

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
WalkingShadow
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:12 am

Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby WalkingShadow » Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:55 pm

Since switching from the FreeCAD version in the Ubuntu repository to the daily builds, I find the boolean intersection function to be broken.

In the Part Workbench, click New File, then Create Sphere, then Create Cube. Move the cube in x, y and z, and click Boolean Intersection.
DimensionMismatch in Array1::Operator=


OS: Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4694 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: f87fbe7e2a22a911a831f9e6db7c02d7c9391e06
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1
WalkingShadow
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:12 am

Boolean Intersection Not Working (revised)

Postby WalkingShadow » Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:23 pm

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4694 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: f87fbe7e2a22a911a831f9e6db7c02d7c9391e06
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1

I want to run a Boolean Intersection on the attached model, but FreeCAD complains
DimensionMismatch in Array1::Operator=
.

This used to work in version 0.14.3702.
Attachments
boolean_intersection.fcstd
(12.75 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
atzensepp
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:37 pm

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby atzensepp » Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:45 pm

On my 32-bit Linux it is working.

OS: Linux Mint 17 Qiana
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.16.4694 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: f87fbe7e2a22a911a831f9e6db7c02d7c9391e06
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby quick61 » Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:01 pm

Rotate the Ellipsoid 37* on the Z axis, to remove the seam from the operation, then give it a try. This is a known weakness in OCE.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14423
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby wmayer » Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:29 pm

I can confirm that it worked with 0.14 but now doesn't work any more. Both versions use the same OCC version.

EDIT: It worked after switching off the option to refine a shape after boolean operations.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4697 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: 0a4b08fcb65624b3abc726faac6c4b89fdc3b21b
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.6.0
WalkingShadow
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:12 am

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby WalkingShadow » Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:38 pm

Thanks, I found that the operation succeeded after removing the seam from the operation by working on the other side of the piece, so that's a useful workaround.
User avatar
tanderson69
Posts: 1488
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:07 am

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby tanderson69 » Sun Mar 22, 2015 4:36 pm

wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14423
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby wmayer » Sun Mar 22, 2015 5:47 pm

Merged & Fixed.
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby quick61 » Sun Mar 22, 2015 6:43 pm

wmayer wrote:Merged & Fixed.
Would this be a good bug fix to be in the releases/FreeCAD-0-15 branch before the official builds get made?

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
WalkingShadow
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:12 am

Re: Boolean Intersection no longer working

Postby WalkingShadow » Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:44 pm

You guys are the best.