FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
drei
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by drei »

Hello,
I would like for someone to confirm the following behavior before I file a bug report.

Opening the attached file, you can see that I have several objects projected into the XY plane.

When I try to create a Draft dimension between the origin and one of the lateral objects, FreeCAD just hangs forever in time.
draft_error01.png
draft_error01.png (150.81 KiB) Viewed 3613 times
Steps to reproduce:
  • Start FreeCAD
  • Open the file
  • Load the Draft Workbench
  • Set the Workplane to XY
  • Select the Dimension Tool
  • Two ways to trigger:
    1. Select the origin and then try to select a point from a lateral object
    2. Move the cursor to a point over the lateral object


Unfortunately, due to the freeze I'm forced to kill the process so gdb is unable to present any info when using bt.
Here's the complete output

Code: Select all

gdb ./FreeCAD
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.9
Copyright (C) 2015 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.
For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from ./FreeCAD...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /home/isaac/Programs/Original/build/bin/FreeCAD 
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
FreeCAD 0.16, Libs: 0.16R4783 (Git)
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2015
  #####                 ####  ###   ####  
  #                    #      # #   #   # 
  #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
  ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
  #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
  #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
  #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##

[New Thread 0x7fff937fe700 (LWP 1270)]
[New Thread 0x7fff92ffd700 (LWP 1271)]
Draft workbench activated
Pick a face to define the drawing plane
Pick first point:
[Thread 0x7fff937fe700 (LWP 1270) exited]
[Thread 0x7fff92ffd700 (LWP 1271) exited]
kill
[Thread 0x7ffff7f897c0 (LWP 1262) exited]

Program terminated with signal SIGKILL, Killed.
The program no longer exists.
(gdb) kill
The program is not being run.
(gdb) bt
No stack.
(gdb) 
FreeCAD info
OS: Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4783 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: 6a6a3d3bd05144e910741c88491f86bf0142acea
Python version: 2.7.9
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Attachments
robot_automatismos.fcstd
(111.93 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
User avatar
quick61
Veteran
Posts: 3803
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by quick61 »

I am not seeing ay such behavior with your file here. Though my development version is a few commits ahead of yours. Don't see the problem with 0.15 release version either.

Mark

OS: Kubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4802 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: 52db9a6cffd59932b4528c83391be007a2a8cac9
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
drei
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by drei »

Thanks Mark,
hmmm...
Perhaps I messed up bad in something, I also noticed that sometimes it outputs something on the lines of Invalid BSpline. I'll keep testing to see if I find anything.

I don't think it's a hardware problem, my specs aren't that bad:

Code: Select all

                   -`
                  .o+`                 isaac@Arch
                 `ooo/                 OS: Arch Linux 
                `+oooo:                Kernel: x86_64 Linux 3.19.3-3-ARCH
               `+oooooo:               Uptime: 2h 9m
               -+oooooo+:              Packages: 828
             `/:-:++oooo+:             Shell: bash 4.3.33
            `/++++/+++++++:            Resolution: 1366x768
           `/++++++++++++++:           DE: KDE5
          `/+++ooooooooooooo/`         WM: KWin
         ./ooosssso++osssssso+`        GTK Theme: QtCurve [GTK2], Orion [GTK3]
        .oossssso-````/ossssss+`       Icon Theme: breeze-dark
       -osssssso.      :ssssssso.      Font: Montserrat Regular
      :osssssss/        osssso+++.     CPU: Intel Core i5-3337U CPU @ 2.7GHz
     /ossssssss/        +ssssooo/-     RAM: 907MB / 7871MB
   `/ossssso+/:-        -:/+osssso+-  
  `+sso+:-`                 `.-/+oso: 
 `++:.                           `-/+/
 .`                                 `/
Regards,
Isaac
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
drei
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by drei »

I have no idea why this happens then.

I have a recording about how to reproduce the error
http://youtu.be/NcG08wg1etg

I'll file the issue in a minute since it just seems really weird that this happens. Also is this considered a crash or just a bug?

Just updated and there seems to be no change in the software as Mark already mentioned.

OS: Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4805 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: 3e1e5974f0b064a7e357cd593227c1cd21901bdb
Python version: 2.7.9
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

EDIT:
Issue #2050
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
User avatar
rockn
Veteran
Posts: 1791
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by rockn »

Ok, I got it too,
To repeat the problem I have to enable all the snap tool buttons. It take more time to you on my computer but I get the same freeze.
@drei : Can we see what Snap buttons are enable ?
I repeat the operation and it seem that it's the Intersection snap tool that cause the freeze.
Edit : well, I'm pretty sure it's it. I have only enable the Intersection snap tool button and FreeCAD freeze even to pick the first point of a dimension or a line...

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4805 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: 3e1e5974f0b064a7e357cd593227c1cd21901bdb
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Formations - Assistance - Développement : https://freecad-france.com
drei
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by drei »

@rockn

Here's the screenshot
draft_error02.png
draft_error02.png (33.08 KiB) Viewed 3574 times
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
User avatar
rockn
Veteran
Posts: 1791
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by rockn »

Well, indeed all snap tool are enable except one. Try to disable intersection tool and let us know if you still can freeze FreeCAD.
Formations - Assistance - Développement : https://freecad-france.com
drei
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by drei »

I'll get to yon on that one on a bit, I'll test as many configurations/combinations as possible.
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
drei
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by drei »

It really is weird, running a single Snap Draft option at a time doesn't cause a freeze.

I built a Debug version of FreeCAD and got the freeze again,

Here's the gdb output, again no bt info available since I have to kill the process:

Code: Select all

gdb ./FreeCAD
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.9
Copyright (C) 2015 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.
For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from ./FreeCAD...done.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /home/isaac/Programs/Original/build/bin/FreeCAD 
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
FreeCAD 0.16, Libs: 0.16R4812 (Git)
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2015
  #####                 ####  ###   ####  
  #                    #      # #   #   # 
  #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
  ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
  #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
  #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
  #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##
Attach observer 0x906440
Attach observer 0x91a080
Attach observer 0xfe7ea0
Attach observer 0x1041f38
Attach observer 0x10450e8
Attach observer 0x10450e8
Attach observer 0x10f0660
[New Thread 0x7fff93218700 (LWP 3345)]
[Thread 0x7fff93218700 (LWP 3345) exited]
Attach observer 0x842808
Attach observer 0x1b2bf70
Draft workbench activated
Pick first point:
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8483,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-39.4165,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-39.9723,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-39.9848,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-39.9848,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8483,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8731,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8855,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8855,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8979,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8979,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8979,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30.9959,-40.0022,-0.196468) (-31.0185,-39.0025,-0.208062) >)
Pick first point:
Pick first point:
EDIT
:shock: I just let FreeCAD sit for 15 minutes and it just started working again, still no bt output:

Code: Select all

(gdb) run
The program being debugged has been started already.
Start it from the beginning? (y or n) y
Starting program: /home/isaac/Programs/Original/build/bin/FreeCAD 
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
FreeCAD 0.16, Libs: 0.16R4812 (Git)
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2015
  #####                 ####  ###   ####  
  #                    #      # #   #   # 
  #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
  ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
  #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
  #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
  #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##
Attach observer 0x908a00
Attach observer 0x91c640
Attach observer 0xfe4310
Attach observer 0x10342f8
Attach observer 0x10374f8
Attach observer 0x10374f8
Attach observer 0x10fde70
[New Thread 0x7fff93218700 (LWP 3511)]
Attach observer 0x1bfb318
Attach observer 0x1ba4d90
Draft workbench activated
Pick first point:
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-16,6,0) (0.0914546,6,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8482,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.8979,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-38.9103,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-41.0592,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (0,0,0) (-0.690785,-0.723034,-0.00625354) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-39.9351,0) >)
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (-30,-36,0) (-30,-39.9351,0) >)
Pick first point:
[Thread 0x7fff93218700 (LWP 3511) exited]
DraftGeomUtils: Unsupported curve type: (<BSplineCurve object>, <Line (0,0,0) (-8.5,0,0) >)
Detach observer 0x1bfb318
Detach observer 0x1ba4d90
Detach observer 0x91c640
Detach observer 0x10374f8
Detach observer 0x10374f8
Detach observer 0xfe4310
Detach observer 0x10342f8
Detach observer 0x10fde70
Detach observer 0x908a00
[Thread 0x7ffff7f887c0 (LWP 3506) exited]
[Inferior 1 (process 3506) exited normally]
(gdb) bt
No stack.
I'll update the issue as soon as the bug tracker is back online.
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
User avatar
shoogen
Veteran
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: FreeCAD hangs when using Draft Dimension

Post by shoogen »

drei wrote:Here's the gdb output, again no bt info available since I have to kill the process
In general: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4216 ... mand-doubt

But in this case we don't need a stacktrace anymore. http://tracker.dev.opencascade.org/view ... 064#c39660
Post Reply