Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby r-frank » Fri May 08, 2015 4:24 pm

Hello guys.

Attached find a file from this tutorial video which I did with 0.14 stable on Windows 7 - 64 bit.
Please take a look at the pad.

With automatic refinement in Settings turned on, the pad went well with all options in 0.14.
But with 0.15/0.16 (tested with 0.16.4924 on windows 7 - 64 bit) the refinement works only
if I set the pad option to "dimension - 10 mm).
Padding to first or last face or a selected face returns a non-refined face (see screenshot).

To me this seems to be a bug.
Can somebody verify/comment ?

Thanks for spending time ....

Roland
Attachments
Pad-not-refined.jpg
Pad-not-refined.jpg (403.18 KiB) Viewed 1445 times
Pad-Extrude-Example.FCStd
(12.46 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 6844
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby DeepSOIC » Fri May 08, 2015 4:34 pm

Reproduced. It doesn't get refined even by explicit refinement, when in up-to-face mode. I'm glad it doesn't fail, though ;) .
OS: Windows 8.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4905 +21 (Git)
Branch: origin/FreeCAD-DeepSOIC,master-mirror
Hash: 3064e7e0beabca8cbf599ae96c5173c55d37f046
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby quick61 » Fri May 08, 2015 4:47 pm

Same here, 0.15 release and with my most recent development build.

Mark

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4958 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 72a0c490ac4183cc9c6a3aff6d3a47847829658d
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby r-frank » Sun May 10, 2015 9:43 am

Thanks for verification.

But this is a problem of OCC, right ?
So someone should report it there.
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
ickby
Posts: 2912
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby ickby » Sun May 10, 2015 9:49 am

No, the refinement is a freecad implementation. tanderson has coded the most part of it if I'm not mistaken. So a bugreport at the freecad tracker would be the first action.
User avatar
tanderson69
Posts: 1495
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:07 am

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby tanderson69 » Sun May 10, 2015 4:07 pm

User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby r-frank » Sun May 10, 2015 4:49 pm

Thanks tanderson69 for taking care ...
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby quick61 » Wed May 13, 2015 2:22 pm

If issue #2097 was supposed to fix this, it has not, or maybe it hasn't been merged into master yet? The ticket status is resolved, but the problem is still there.

Edit - There is also another problem. In first screenshot, the 4 circles were Paded to dimension (reversed). In the second screenshot, the same sketch was Padded up to face, and 3 of the 4 pads are missing.
Pad_Dimension.png
Pad, Dimension, Reverse
Pad_Dimension.png (9.75 KiB) Viewed 1325 times
Pad_UpToFace.png
Pad, Up to face
Pad_UpToFace.png (5.9 KiB) Viewed 1325 times

Mark

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.4976 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 84d579186c65fb5e2325adbf999aa93f2d8594ce
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14614
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby wmayer » Fri May 15, 2015 6:36 pm

Edit - There is also another problem. In first screenshot, the 4 circles were Paded to dimension (reversed). In the second screenshot, the same sketch was Padded up to face, and 3 of the 4 pads are missing.
issue #0001655
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Refinement Bug in 0.15/0.16

Postby quick61 » Fri May 15, 2015 6:42 pm

wmayer wrote:
Edit - There is also another problem. In first screenshot, the 4 circles were Paded to dimension (reversed). In the second screenshot, the same sketch was Padded up to face, and 3 of the 4 pads are missing.
issue #0001655

Thanks! There was something in the back of my mind that it had been seen before, but couldn't place it.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?