Delete faces of imported step geometry

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
cad_man

Delete faces of imported step geometry

Postby cad_man » Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:50 am

Hi all,

I'm just beginning to use FreeCAD and I have a relatively simple question:

Is it possible to delete faces from an imported step file?
There is just one block in the file from which I need to delete certain faces. I can select them, but when I hit delete, the whole object is gone :-(

Thank you very much in advance for your help!
wmayer
Site Admin

Re: Delete faces of imported step geometry

Postby wmayer » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:25 pm

There is currently no function inside FreeCAD to achieve this. But you can try the little Python script below which filters out the selected faces and creates a new object.

Code: Select all

# Get object with selected elements
s=Gui.Selection.getSelectionEx()
s=s[0]

# Check for faces and store the their id's
numbers=[]
for i in s.SubElementNames:
    numbers.append(int(i.replace("Face","")))

# revert sorted list to remove the elements from list
numbers.sort()
numbers.reverse()
faces=s.Object.Shape.Faces

# remove the elements 
for i in numbers:
    faces.remove(faces[i-1])

# create a new object
shell=Part.Shell(faces)
Part.show(shell)
pperisin

Postby pperisin » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:35 pm

You can also use draft down arrow to explode solid to faces. after that faces can be deleted.

Regards
Petar
cad_man

Postby cad_man » Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:39 am

Hello,

thank you very much for your swift replies!
In the meantime I've found out that the following also works (it creates a new object out of the selected items, just as wmayer suggested):

import Part
for o in Gui.Selection.getSelectionEx():
	Part.show(Part.Compound(o.SubObjects))