Possible bug with free hand placement and draft

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
JMG
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:32 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Possible bug with free hand placement and draft

Postby JMG » Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:36 pm

Hello.

I have noted recently this strange behavior:

1- Open a new FreeCAD document
2- Switch to part design workbench and create a pad from a sketch
3- Switch to draft workbench and clone the previous pad

4-(bug here I think): Try to "transform" (right click over cloned object in tree view) -> nothing happens
(well, report view says: "This object type is not editable")

5- Save the file, close FreeCAD. Open the file.
6- Right click over cloned object in tree view: "transform" -> now you can move the clone freely.

The Report view on the 6th step says:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/freecad/Mod/Draft/Draft.py", line 3239, in setEdit
    FreeCADGui.runCommand("Draft_Edit")
<class 'Base.FreeCADError'>: No such command 'Draft_Edit'
And after clearing selection:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/freecad/Mod/Draft/Draft.py", line 3243, in unsetEdit
    if FreeCAD.activeDraftCommand:
<type 'exceptions.AttributeError'>: 'module' object has no attribute 'activeDraftCommand'
My FreeCAD data:

Code: Select all

OS: Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.5235 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 6b3d7b17a749e03bcbf2cf79bbbb903137298c44
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
I attach the file where this happened (its a simple padded rectangle, but any shape coming from a sketch will give this error).
test3.fcstd
(13.26 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
To repeat the error with the file:
-Open the file, try to transform the cloned shape
-Switch to draft workbench
-Switch back to any workbench and try to transform -> transform not working

Seen the error messages, I do not think that this is an intended behavior.

Hope it helps.
Javier.
FreeCAD scripts, animations, experiments and more: http://linuxforanengineer.blogspot.com.es/
Open source CNC hot wire cutter project (NiCr): https://github.com/JMG1/NiCr
Exploded Assembly Workbench: https://github.com/JMG1/ExplodedAssembly
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Possible bug with free hand placement and draft

Postby quick61 » Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:08 pm

It does look like a bug, I can repeat the behaviour in 0.15 release as well.

OS: Kubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4671 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-15
Hash: 244b3aef360841646cbfe80a1b225c8b39c8380c
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?