hide measures

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
free4one
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:31 pm

hide measures

Postby free4one » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:51 am

Hello Guys

It is possible to hide(not delete) the red measures? Because it sucks. It disturbs to create new drawings. Thanks ;)
Attachments
ededed.PNG
ededed.PNG (84.09 KiB) Viewed 1955 times
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4329
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: hide measures

Postby microelly2 » Tue Dec 01, 2015 1:41 pm

Its not possible to hide the red constraints

Two other remarks
You have to design your two parts in two different sketches to get two independend objects.
You can drag the messures with your mouse to positions where they are better readable and do not overlap your sketch.
mario52
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: hide measures

Postby mario52 » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:23 pm

hi
you can change the color of the lines Menu > Display > Sketcher > Constraint color
mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9556
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: hide measures

Postby jmaustpc » Wed Dec 02, 2015 11:07 am

these are "constraints" and are critical to the functioning of a sketch...hiding them could cause difficulties, would be counter intuitive.
ehrichweiss
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: hide measures

Postby ehrichweiss » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:18 pm

I hate to post to an old thread but despite the nay-sayers' comments, there are plenty of reasons to be able to hide constraints temporarily. I'm working with a project that has about 2500 hexagons, each with 4 or more constraints set by me(that's besides the constraints set on hexagons to begin with) and I'm only at about 100 objects right now and it takes nerves of steel to select the correct edge for fear of selecting one of the constraints that are blocking my view from the distance I have to view it. No, I can't make it simpler or break it down into smaller pieces. I tried that in multiple ways including scripting and using Python, and I either got random crashes or unpredictable behavior. While the crashes and unpredictable behavior need to be addressed, there's nothing wrong with being able to turn the constraint lines off while you move a piece of one of your sketches to another part of the sketch.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: hide measures

Postby NormandC » Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:18 pm

ehrichweiss wrote:there are plenty of reasons to be able to hide constraints temporarily.
There's already a feature request on the bug tracker. But until a developer volunteers to implement it, this won't get done. The sketcher has not been worked on for most of the past year.
ehrichweiss wrote:I'm working with a project that has about 2500 hexagons
That's massive.
ehrichweiss wrote:No, I can't make it simpler or break it down into smaller pieces.
Why?!? :roll:

Creating a sketch with 2500 constrained hexagons is totally insane. Even in commercial programs with mature solvers sketchers it would be an almost impossible task because at some point the solver would totally bog down. There's too much stuff to solve.
  • Are your hexagons the same size, or are they of different sizes (and how many sizes)?
  • Do you have any kind of repeating pattern?
  • What's your end game? What will you use these hexagons for? Will you produce a 3D shape?
If all you need is 2D then I recommend you work in a dedicated 2D CAD program like LibreCAD or DraftSight.
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 6844
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: hide measures

Postby DeepSOIC » Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:01 pm

(a discussion about hexagon pattern followed, and was split off into a new thread: pattern of hexagons on cylinder)
tnm23
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: hide measures

Postby tnm23 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:13 pm

Maybe if the line colours had an alpha channel, so construction/constaints can be given varying levels of translucency? Alternatively, dots and dashes and thinner lines would be the more traditional draughtsman's answer.
paullee
Posts: 1623
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: hide measures

Postby paullee » Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:38 pm

NormandC wrote:
Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:18 pm
There's already a feature request on the bug tracker. But until a developer volunteers to implement it, this won't get done. The sketcher has not been worked on for most of the past year.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/posting.ph ... 3&p=134662
I found the feature request: issue #1629 (it's 2 year old :| )
Hi, I find this thread after I open a discussion earlier and struggling how to report in bug tracker (newbie) - Bejant suggested to open a ticket on the bug tracker to ask for the feature.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24570 Sketcher - Make Invisible Reference Constraints & Construction Geometry

I find Wmayer says ' Implemented in 0.17 ' in 1/2017.

I am confused - should I reported by adding to the same bug/feature report?
(otherwise I may confuse the bug tracker :) )

Thanks for any hints!
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4329
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: hide measures

Postby microelly2 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 6:00 am

paullee wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:38 pm

I find Wmayer says ' Implemented in 0.17 ' in 1/2017.

I am confused - should I reported by adding to the same bug/feature report?
(otherwise I may confuse the bug tracker :) )

There was an implementation to hide the blue constraints but then there was an (unsolvealble?) bug.