[solved] question on Part->Cross Sections

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
piffpoof
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 11:00 am
Location: Mare Nostrum
Contact:

[solved] question on Part->Cross Sections

Postby piffpoof » Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:35 pm

hi

I have a model that is 4m thick and would like to make 6 or so cross sections of it. That would imply a Distance between cross-sections of about 66cm. When I try and enter this in the Cross Sections control panel, I can not set the Distance between cross-sections greater than 99.99mm. Generating cross-sections at 99.99mm generates about 40 cross-sections.

Is there a way around this or is there a reason for this limitation?

I checked the Wiki page but it has nothing to say.

thanks

Dean
Last edited by piffpoof on Thu Dec 31, 2015 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: question on Part->Cross Sections

Postby triplus » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:11 pm

Probably QSpinBox is set at default value (max 99). If you want you can create feature request and hopefully higher value will be set soon.
murdic
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:35 am

Re: question on Part->Cross Sections

Postby murdic » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:17 pm

************
User avatar
piffpoof
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 11:00 am
Location: Mare Nostrum
Contact:

[solved] Re: question on Part->Cross Sections

Postby piffpoof » Thu Dec 31, 2015 8:27 am

triplus wrote:Probably QSpinBox is set at default value (max 99). If you want you can create feature request and hopefully higher value will be set soon.
Thanks, was able to trap and modify the Python Console code as listed below to work around, so your suggestion of the Input box limit is probably it.

Reported as a GUI issue on Mantis #2385

Code: Select all

import Part
from FreeCAD import Base

wires=list()
shape=FreeCAD.getDocument("hull").Fusion.Shape

for i in shape.slice(Base.Vector(1,0,0),-1500.0):
     wires.append(i)

for i in shape.slice(Base.Vector(1,0,0),-1000.0):
     wires.append(i)

for i in shape.slice(Base.Vector(1,0,0),-500.0):
     wires.append(i)

for i in shape.slice(Base.Vector(1,0,0),0.0):
     wires.append(i)

for i in shape.slice(Base.Vector(1,0,0),500.0):
     wires.append(i)

for i in shape.slice(Base.Vector(1,0,0),1000.0):
     wires.append(i)

for i in shape.slice(Base.Vector(1,0,0),1500.0):
     wires.append(i)

comp=Part.Compound(wires)
slice=FreeCAD.getDocument("hull").addObject("Part::Feature","Fusion_cs")
slice.Shape=comp
slice.purgeTouched()
del slice,comp,wires,shape
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 17321
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: question on Part->Cross Sections

Postby wmayer » Thu Dec 31, 2015 11:27 am