Strange character on input numbers [SOLVED]

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
oldsphere
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Strange character on input numbers [SOLVED]

Postby oldsphere » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:26 pm

Hello folks!
I have a problem with my FreeCAD enviroment. On the menus, when an input number is requried, some strange characters appears instead. If the proper number are typed it works fine, but is annoying to have this characters and loose the reference of what value was before... I was wondering if any of you can help me to solve this thing. I've attached a capture of one menu so you can see the problem.

Thank you in advance!

FreeCAD information:
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4671 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-15
Hash: 244b3aef360841646cbfe80a1b225c8b39c8380c
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Attachments
Menu.png
Menu.png (27.89 KiB) Viewed 750 times
Last edited by oldsphere on Wed Feb 10, 2016 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 6969
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby DeepSOIC » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:30 pm

Hi!
I'd be curious to know, what are language settings on your Windows? Maybe it's trying to print something else than Arabic numbers...
oldsphere
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby oldsphere » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:44 pm

Hi DeepSOIC!
The system language is Spanish. I've checked the FreeCAD settings and tried English and Spanish but the problem persists.
Any clue of what could be happening?
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby jmaustpc » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:02 pm

oldsphere wrote:Hi DeepSOIC!
The system language is Spanish. I've checked the FreeCAD settings and tried English and Spanish but the problem persists.
Any clue of what could be happening?
You could try updating to a 0.16 snapshot as 0.15 is very nearly obsolete, if the problem does not persist then it will no longer matter soon anyway, but if the problem does still persist then its probably relevant.
oldsphere
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby oldsphere » Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:03 am

Good idea but the problem still persists...

FreeCAD info:
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6348 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5fbdd4ac6624e32ba3a3e5523a31d56fe3ba7ae6
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby jmaustpc » Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:10 pm

oldsphere wrote:Good idea but the problem still persists...
OK, one thing you could try is renaming the config files, so that when FreeCAD starts it generates new ones all with default values....that would determine if it is something in the settings somewhere causing the issues.
wandererfan
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby wandererfan » Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:34 pm

Edit > Preferences > General > Editor

Is the value in "Family" a reasonable font name? (Arial, TimesNewRoman, etc)

wf
oldsphere
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby oldsphere » Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:46 pm

wandererfan wrote:Edit > Preferences > General > Editor

Is the value in "Family" a reasonable font name? (Arial, TimesNewRoman, etc)

wf
It was on Calibri. I've changed to Arial for trying and nothing changed, same problem.
jmaustpc wrote:OK, one thing you could try is renaming the config files, so that when FreeCAD starts it generates new ones all with default values....that would determine if it is something in the settings somewhere causing the issues.
The 0.16 version that I found was already compiled and I've executed it straightly without any installation process. I looked around on the folder for configuration files but threre wasn't any luck. Lots of DLLs but nothing I could identify as a config file. Where should I look for them?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5334
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby sgrogan » Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:58 pm

All versions on your system share the same config files. Type %APPDATA%/FreeCAD into the address bar and you will see them. system.cfg and user.cfg
oldsphere
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: Strange character on input numbers

Postby oldsphere » Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:09 pm

Ok, now I've found them. Thank you! However, the problem is still there...