Two figures in Sketch -> Pad/Pocket does not work

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
DL8RI
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:45 pm

Two figures in Sketch -> Pad/Pocket does not work

Postby DL8RI » Sat Apr 16, 2016 2:26 pm

Hi,

maybe it's a Bug, maybe I just have to adapt to the new Part-Design workflow...
I want to create a body with two holes in it. With the 0.16, I created the volume, added a sketch with two circles and did the pocket-operation.
With the latest 0.17, it does not work anymore. I get the messages "Tip shape is empty (but must be executed)" and "TopoDS::Face".

If I remove one circle it works without problems. Same problem with other shapes.

OS: Windows 8 (Windows 10)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7399 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 08df5cbc59182d2fac98565e2a2ac450d95f92ab
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17


Now the question is: Bug or feature? ;)


Edit: Changed Title... Of course ist Pad & Pocket and not Loft & Pocket, silly me.
Last edited by DL8RI on Sun Apr 17, 2016 9:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
Kind regards,

Martin
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7479
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Loft/Pocket does not work

Postby DeepSOIC » Sat Apr 16, 2016 2:43 pm

Can't reproduce.
PDN pocket two circles.FCStd
(14.21 KiB) Downloaded 70 times
can you post a detailed step-by-step guide, or a file, or both...?

OS: Windows 8.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7399 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 08df5cbc59182d2fac98565e2a2ac450d95f92ab
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
DL8RI
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Loft/Pocket does not work

Postby DL8RI » Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:03 pm

Hi,

thanks for the fast reply :)

If you try a pocket with the attached File (problem.FCStd) it should not work.

What I did:
Create a sketch with two intercepting rectangles and Pad this one to a Bar as shown.
Create a second sketch on one surface and draw two Independent shapes (two cicles or a rectangle and a circle), and then try to pocket.

I made more or less the same with the 0.15 Stable, and it works... (probem2_0-15), just for a comparison (File and Picture attached).
Attachments
Problem.FCStd
(11.63 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
Bar.PNG
Bar.PNG (13.71 KiB) Viewed 6616 times
Problem2_0-15.FCStd
(12.71 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
Kind regards,

Martin
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7479
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Loft/Pocket does not work

Postby DeepSOIC » Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:29 pm

Thanks, now I can reproduce. So the key seems to be that two circles should not be one inside other. Like making two independent pockets with one sketch.
DL8RI
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Loft/Pocket does not work

Postby DL8RI » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:26 pm

So the key seems to be that two circles should not be one inside other. Like making two independent pockets with one sketch.
Exactly. Typical application would be several screw-holes in a metal plate (wich is what I wanted to do).
After some additional tests, I can't find an error on my side, so probably it's a bug?!

Should I put it in the tracker, or, since AFAIK you are a devoloper of PartDesign, this not needed anymore?
Kind regards,

Martin
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7479
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Loft/Pocket does not work

Postby DeepSOIC » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:19 pm

Please put it into tracker. I'm not currently involved in development, that was almost a year ago. I may come in again, eventually...
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Loft/Pocket does not work

Postby NormandC » Sat Apr 16, 2016 8:20 pm

I confirm the bug as well. There should be no problem with creating a pocket from a sketch containing multiple non-intersecting profiles.
DL8RI wrote:Create a sketch with two intercepting rectangles and Pad this one to a Bar as shown.
For the bug report I suggest supplying a simpler test case. The Pad's sketch only needs a single rectangle to reproduce the bug.

The bug affects Pad as well, and I assume the other additive/subtractive tools.

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.4 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7402 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 3e941f2b8742c895e7ad3ef1b30d7eae73ae4eca
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Pad/Pocket does not work

Postby NormandC » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:58 am

Bug reported by DL8RI as issue #2512.
User avatar
fosselius
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:03 am

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Pad/Pocket does not work

Postby fosselius » Sun May 08, 2016 6:42 am

I got this yesterday, is there any workaround? its a bit of a pain to add one hole/sketch ^_^
User avatar
f3nix
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Two figures in Sketch -> Pad/Pocket does not work

Postby f3nix » Fri May 20, 2016 3:50 pm

Hi,
could anyone confirm that the latest git has a fix for this problem?

For me it pads only one circle. No error messages in the console.

Thanks.

Cheers,
Mateusz

OS: Debian GNU/Linux unstable (sid)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7614 (Git)
Build type: Debug
Branch: master
Hash: 716e2563b77c3af6046422027565901c2e29aeec
Python version: 2.7.11+
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17