PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
pablogil
Posts: 856
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Badajoz (Spain)
Contact:

PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby pablogil » Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:04 pm

I really like the new PartDesign workbench, it's much more intuitive and powerful, contrats guys!

Anyway, I'm trying to perform what I think is very basic but don't know how to:
1) create a new body
2) additive box
3) and now I want the box to be placed on the center...
axis.png
axis.png (13.08 KiB) Viewed 1024 times
I mean, I want the CoordinateSystem to be on the center of the cube or not the coordinates but be able to shift XYZ to half its length, width, height so that the box is placed as I want.
I have tried to use SuperPlacement and get the Box.Length but it's not recognized...

Any idea?
Thanks
Dark and Light stylesheets v2.0 to theme your FreeCAD UI, more information here
User avatar
pablogil
Posts: 856
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Badajoz (Spain)
Contact:

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby pablogil » Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:37 pm

Umm, maybe there is no solution to this as I have checked it turns into a cyclic dependency:
cyclic.PNG
cyclic.PNG (7.48 KiB) Viewed 1011 times
Is there other way to setup how the box is created or where the coordinate system is placed?

Thanks again
Dark and Light stylesheets v2.0 to theme your FreeCAD UI, more information here
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby triplus » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:05 pm

You should use Base -> Placement -> Position X, Y and Z property to achieve what you are after.

P.S: As for super placement i know. Given the choice i would probably want to use the super placement myself but in this case regular is what you are after! ;)
cox
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:37 pm

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby cox » Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:30 pm

triplus wrote:You should use Base -> Placement -> Position X, Y and Z property to achieve what you are after.

P.S: As for super placement i know. Given the choice i would probably want to use the super placement myself but in this case regular is what you are after! ;)
Have you found some logic behind this?
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby triplus » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:28 pm

cox wrote:
triplus wrote:You should use Base -> Placement -> Position X, Y and Z property to achieve what you are after.

P.S: As for super placement i know. Given the choice i would probably want to use the super placement myself but in this case regular is what you are after! ;)
Have you found some logic behind this?
The important thing ATM is new users trying out PartDesign NEXT and expressing their observations. It will be easier to gather some conclusions after.
User avatar
pablogil
Posts: 856
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Badajoz (Spain)
Contact:

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby pablogil » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:34 pm

triplus wrote:You should use Base -> Placement -> Position X, Y and Z property to achieve what you are after.

P.S: As for super placement i know. Given the choice i would probably want to use the super placement myself but in this case regular is what you are after! ;)
I found I'm able to shift the position with Base -> Placement -> Position XYZ but the real problem is that what I want is to position it on its own center, that it, I would like CoordinateSystem to shift Box.Length/2 and Box.Width/2 so that the cube fits on the center... Maybe other nice approach would be to have a parameter that defines where the CoordinateSystem is "born".
Dark and Light stylesheets v2.0 to theme your FreeCAD UI, more information here
cox
Posts: 971
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:37 pm

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby cox » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:41 pm

Try Box.CoordinateSystem.Placement
Need help? Feel free to ask, but please read the guidelines first
User avatar
pablogil
Posts: 856
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Badajoz (Spain)
Contact:

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby pablogil » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:57 pm

cox wrote:Try Box.CoordinateSystem.Placement
It still doesn't work, it advises me of cyclic dependency:
cyclic2.png
cyclic2.png (10.63 KiB) Viewed 953 times
Partially I understand it, I'm trying to set a parameter that belongs to itself but I don't see why it's a cyclic dependency. I think the Length/Width/Height has nothing to do with the transformation matrix of the CoordinateSystem...
Dark and Light stylesheets v2.0 to theme your FreeCAD UI, more information here
renatorivo
Posts: 2611
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:07 pm
Location: Torino - Italy

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby renatorivo » Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:07 pm

Box-> Coordinate System
MapMode=Deactivated
Base: Placement->Position
coordsys.png
coordsys.png (22.45 KiB) Viewed 949 times
User avatar
pablogil
Posts: 856
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Badajoz (Spain)
Contact:

Re: PartDesign Next - additive box to center

Postby pablogil » Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:23 pm

renatorivo wrote:Box-> Coordinate System
MapMode=Deactivated
Base: Placement->Position
coordsys.png
Yes, yes, that works but what I want is to parametrically drive this position by Box length, width and height, that is, set Placement Position this way:
X = Box.Length/2
Y = Box.Width/2
Z = Box.Height/2

So, for instance, if I set 10, 10 and 10mm for Box size it would be placed on the global center
Dark and Light stylesheets v2.0 to theme your FreeCAD UI, more information here