Bunch of issues/questions

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby NormandC » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:01 pm

chrisb wrote: I don't know the workflow in other systems but I think you have to learn to think more the FreeCAD way.
+1.

With your last examples it is clear that you are still not really trying to familiarize yourself with FreeCAD, you are trying to do what you're used to in SolidWorks.
efyx
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby efyx » Sun Oct 09, 2016 3:02 pm

This is internet forum which is used to exchange and to share ideas. Your point of view is that is ok as it is, in my point of view would be nice if it wouldn't be limited todo that operation as I posted. Question is not: is it worth of doing that, question is: is it hard to do that and is there someone who would do that? Are you responsible for sketch module? We all wish the best to FreeCAD and that's why we are involved some way (I less/you more - because of your skills). Cheers.
mario52
Posts: 3235
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby mario52 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 5:12 pm

hi
patience for tomorrow
Macro_FCShape_To_Volume.png
Macro_FCShape_To_Volume.png (13.41 KiB) Viewed 1147 times
select twoo or more objects Draft give thickness and choice
the original object is not modified

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
mario52
Posts: 3235
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby mario52 » Mon Oct 10, 2016 8:19 pm

hi
can be useful Macro_FCWire_To_Volume
select the wires and create

Image

Image
mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby triplus » Mon Oct 10, 2016 8:34 pm

Good job @mario52.

P.S. If both functionality would be combined in the future:

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=17755#p139705

That would make a nice Part command.
mario52
Posts: 3235
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby mario52 » Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:42 am

hi
with objects Draft ?

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby triplus » Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:48 am

That tool does work with solids and your with 2D geometry and it produces solids. Therefore indeed maybe 2 separate tools instead of one complex makes more sense.
efyx
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby efyx » Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:51 am

17) Is it possible to add "Fits The Whole Content on a Screen" after closing sketch? Most cases before extrusion it is needed to do that anyway.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby triplus » Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:10 pm

I use more general solution. That is create a macro first:

Code: Select all

Gui.activeDocument().activeView().viewAxonometric()
Gui.SendMsgToActiveView("ViewFit")
After you can create toolbar command out of it:

http://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.ph ... e_ToolsBar

In FreeCAD 0.17 features like this are being explored and implemented and the trend is raising. Although i like most of them some try to enforce certain worfklow too much. And that isn't all that desirable from my point of view.

P.S. And as @mario52 took initiative and made macro based on your desires. It i guess would be appropriate to at least give him some feedback after you tested it.
efyx
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Bunch of issues/questions

Postby efyx » Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:06 pm

triplus wrote:That is create a macro first:
Looks like this formula is the same as existing button "Fits the Whole Content on the Screen" or am I wrong. I thought would be good after closing sketch automaticly it would positioning it on a screen.
mario52 wrote:...
I have just while ago tested your macro. It is not 100% what I thought but look like it works well, and for sure will be usefull. Thanks. In my point of view if that would work with sketch would be perfect - I am not familiar with draft workbench but looks like editing/dimensioning is more problematic than in sketch. Also dynamic selection of what part of shape I would pick for extrusion will be perfect.