Ticket #2652 transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the backgrd

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
tobycz
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:35 am

Ticket #2652 transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the backgrd

Postby tobycz » Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:46 am

Hi,

First of all, thanks a lot for very good piece of open source software!

Now for my question.
I have an interesting effect when I mouse over a transparent box in the background with a transparent cylinder shown in the foreground.
The cylinder is only shown as wireframe during mouse over (please see also attached images and attached example.FCStd).
Is this the intended behaviour?
Thanks!

Toby

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6704 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: 0c449d7e8f9b2b1fb93e3f8d1865e2f59d7ed253
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
example_no_mouse_over_box.png
example_no_mouse_over_box.png (6.42 KiB) Viewed 1717 times
example_mouse_over_box.png
example_mouse_over_box.png (2.64 KiB) Viewed 1717 times
Attachments
example.FCStd
(3.72 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
Last edited by Kunda1 on Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added ticket number to thread title
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby NormandC » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:00 am

Hello Toby,

Looks like a display glitch, I have the same thing here. But if you rotate the view, zoom out or a combination of the two, at some point the cylinder displays normally. Then it's back to wireframe again...

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.4 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6703 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: 2ce5c8d2e3020d05005ed71f710e09e9aa561f40
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
tobycz
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:35 am

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby tobycz » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:32 am

Thanks for quick reply!

I have two quick questions.
Is there any workaround for that?
Is a display glitch considered as an issue and should I submit it to a tracker?

Thanks!
ulrich1a
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby ulrich1a » Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:45 am

tobycz wrote:Is there any workaround for that?
I have often "display glitches". In a lot of case it helps to click "fit on screen" and then zoom again to the required level.
tobycz wrote:Is a display glitch considered as an issue and should I submit it to a tracker?
I would say, it is an issue. So its worth to put it into the bug tracker. On the other side FreeCAD has so much need for improvement, that I would expect it takes a long time until someone feels a need to fix this. But if it is in the tracker, it will not be forgotten.

Ulrich
tobycz
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:35 am

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby tobycz » Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:56 am

Thanks, Ulrich!

Unfortunately "fit on screen" doesn't really solve the problem.
As soon as one rotates the view, the problem occurs again but it also disappears when one continues to rotate.

I will submit it to the tracker.

Toby
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby NormandC » Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:07 am

Yes, that way it won't be forgotten. I suggest you add a link to this topic in the bug report, then paste a link to the report here.

A hint: just paste the bug report ID number here, and add "bug" tags (just click on the "bug" button on the "Post a reply" toolbar.

Example:

Code: Select all

[bug]2637[/bug]
will show as issue #2637.
tobycz
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:35 am

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby tobycz » Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:20 am

Submitted to FreeCAD tracker : issue #2652
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8702
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:51 pm

soft bump
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8702
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:45 am

Can still reproduce on

Code: Select all

OS: "Manjaro Linux"
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13905 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: e80b5678ccfa59a5222b91bdc7e748a53a468468
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
freedman
Posts: 1684
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: transparent cylinder in foreground only shown as wireframe when mouse over a transparent box in the background

Postby freedman » Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:14 am

If you notice the transparency of the box is set to 66 and the cylinder is 20, set it to zero and all is good. The program is probably doing what it should, stuff kind of disappears when these numbers aren't set to zero.