Trouble with "create shape" utility

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jabberwocky
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 2:25 pm

Trouble with "create shape" utility

Postby jabberwocky » Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:13 pm

I use the Part-Utility "Shape Builder" to create shapes from a couple of edges that form a closed wire, using the option "Face from edges". As you can see, I successfully started with a small area (dark gray) and then I selected the next one (green edges):
intermediate - making it rectangular 11.png
intermediate - making it rectangular 11.png (181.97 KiB) Viewed 514 times
But when clicking "create", the shape is not as expected:
intermediate - making it rectangular 12b.png
intermediate - making it rectangular 12b.png (125.23 KiB) Viewed 514 times
Since the created shape is clearly outside the bounding edges, I dare to claim this is a bug?

Moreover, when trying to create shapes from other areas like that one (that seem to be quite similar to the above):
intermediate - making it rectangular 9.png
intermediate - making it rectangular 9.png (141.95 KiB) Viewed 514 times
... this results in various error messages in the status bar, like
intermediate - making it rectangular 9b.png
intermediate - making it rectangular 9b.png (1.25 KiB) Viewed 514 times
combined with a white window freezed application, or
intermediate - making it rectangular 10b.png
intermediate - making it rectangular 10b.png (747 Bytes) Viewed 514 times
What am I doing wrong? In fact, I gave up using this method, as I even had to make the areas very much smaller to avoid problems. Currently I create everything new from scratch using a different method (by revolving a shape). Nevertheless I am quite fascinated by the possibilities of FreeCAD and would like to learn how to use the Shape Builder correctly, as it seems to me a very useful tool, if only I would know how to use it correctly.


OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6704 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: 0c449d7e8f9b2b1fb93e3f8d1865e2f59d7ed253
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3774
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Trouble with "create shape" utility

Postby quick61 » Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:54 pm

Without seeing the file, it is hard to say... Is that shape your using derived from a meshed object by any chance? The extra edges that would come from such a derived shape will lead to trouble.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Trouble with "create shape" utility

Postby NormandC » Thu Aug 11, 2016 2:18 pm

jabberwocky wrote:... this results in various error messages in the status bar
Edit --> Preferences / General / Output window

Check both "redirect internal python error/messages to report view"
Display the report view from the View --> Panels menu. Messages will be displayed there and you'll be able to copy-paste them.