Is FEM Running?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
pbhuter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:58 pm

Is FEM Running?

Postby pbhuter » Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:16 pm

I followed the details of this tutorial:

http://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.ph ... #Procedure

But I used my own part design. I get to creating the .inp file, and it seems to just stop. The time does not advance. This is what my screen looks like:
Screenshot_2016-08-18_17-14-28.png
Screenshot_2016-08-18_17-14-28.png (157.48 KiB) Viewed 1430 times
I have done this several times, and no result. i have rebuilt my FEM analysis, and no result. My computer is running fine, and it seems FreeCAD is available to do other things, so I do not think it is running.

When I follow the tutorial exactly, I end up seeing constraints and forces applied to the cube. But when I do things in my model, I do not see these constraints or forces.

I did try letting it run for about five minutes, but it did not seem to be doing anything.

Suggestions?

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6703 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: 2ce5c8d2e3020d05005ed71f710e09e9aa561f40
Python version: 2.7.11+
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Korslight
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:26 pm

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby Korslight » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:01 am

Hello pbhuter,

I recently tested out FEM for myself and I was able to get a simple simulation running.

If you attach your part and give me the constraints I will see if I can get it to run.

Cheers,
Korslight
Korslight
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:26 pm

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby Korslight » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:10 am

I attached a super simple simulation with I just did. So yes the FEM workbench is working.

I can run through it with you as well.

Let me know your thoughts.
Attachments
FEM.JPG
FEM.JPG (74.19 KiB) Viewed 1383 times
pbhuter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby pbhuter » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:12 am

I appreciate you getting back to my post.

I was able to get it to run when I went step-by-step through the example I posted. But with my part design, it does not work. I will post my part first thing tomorrow morning (or maybe late tonight).
Korslight
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:26 pm

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby Korslight » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:59 am

Yeah, that is strange. I will see if I can get it to run and if not I am sure there are people on here more proficient with the FEM that would be able to help you out.

Cheers
User avatar
PrzemoF
Posts: 3076
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby PrzemoF » Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:38 am

Can you run FreeCAD from terminal and see if there are any error messages? If you can upload the file we'll test it.

I guess 6703 is the latest stable version for ubuntu, but there were _massive_ changes since then - current version is ~8291 (over 1500 commits of difference)
pbhuter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby pbhuter » Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:19 pm

Here is my file.

I meshed both pieces of the part using the default parameters that show up when you click the "mesh" button.
I placed a surface constraint on the bottom face.
I placed a force of 3,625,000 N on the bottom face acting perpendicular to the face.
I applied a material with the following properties:
- 68.9 GPa
- 0.330
- 2700 kg/m^3

I wanted to upload the FEM file, but it is too big, so hopefully someone can recreate my set up and see if they can get it to run.

I appreciate the help!
Attachments
Q1_Structure.FCStd
(23.11 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
User avatar
PrzemoF
Posts: 3076
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby PrzemoF » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:10 pm

What's the size of the file?
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2927
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby easyw-fc » Tue Aug 23, 2016 4:41 pm

PrzemoF wrote:Can you run FreeCAD from terminal and see if there are any error messages? If you can upload the file we'll test it.

I guess 6703 is the latest stable version for ubuntu, but there were _massive_ changes since then - current version is ~8291 (over 1500 commits of difference)
Hi @PrzemoF
I tried FC latest in ubuntu 16.04.1 both 32 and 64bits under VB 5.0.26 (latest) but unfortunately I cannot use correctly FEM WB

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.17.8293 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 51e23d854e59ab0a23a9ea9b19e74e5f02753d82
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
then I did some test under windows as suggested by @bernd
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16749&start=50#p133736
that seems a very useful workaround to work under windows...
and still I cannot obtain a thermomechanical analysis on i.e. these files
simplechip_05_multiple_mat.fcstd
from
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16749&start=40#p133612
or
simple_chip.fcstd
from
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16749&start=40#p133620
makkemal wrote:We are developing Thermo-mechanical training
http://opensim.co.za/index.php?option=c ... Itemid=618
Not complete but a start.

Never use first order tet elements !

Regards
Michael
@ makkemal would you mind to create a guide also for Thermo-mechanical analysis on i.e. something similar to a pcb with some chips?
thanks a lot for supporting
Maurice
User avatar
makkemal
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Is FEM Running?

Postby makkemal » Tue Aug 23, 2016 4:55 pm

@Maurice
A windows version of 0.16 with thermo-mechanical included can be found here
http://opensim.co.za/index.php?option=c ... Itemid=618
To simplify chip analysis need a few improvements on multi-body meshing
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16750
One of my guys is working on including radiation heat transfer

Get a unbuntu machine :D