How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Edgecutter
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:51 pm

How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby Edgecutter » Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:15 am

caliper47.5.FCStd
(15.28 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

I want to add a 6.6mm feature to this area. Ideally I want to add some strength by joining the two thickened bosses by duplicating the outer edge symmetrically about the hole centres to form an joining web between the thicker bosses?

Image
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1764
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby Jee-Bee » Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:42 am

  • Create new sketch.
  • move sketch to surface
  • duplicate geometry and make sketch
I added some thickness to your model. The sketch is not fully constraint... i didn't had the time to figure outh where.
Attachments
caliper47.5_ext.FCStd
(26.03 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
Edgecutter
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:51 pm

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby Edgecutter » Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:19 pm

Thank you. I have left the sketch under constrained for now just so I can continue to make minor changes
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby NormandC » Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:29 pm

A more efficient method is to select the face on your solid before creating a new sketch. It will automatically map it to the solid, allowing you to create a pad that will be automatically fused to the solid, or a Part Design Pocket that will cut away material.
Edgecutter
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:51 pm

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby Edgecutter » Mon Sep 12, 2016 3:55 pm

NormandC,I understand I can pad a new sketch to fuse more thickness. I am wondering if there is relatively simple method I can use to copy the outer edge of the existing face in this area and mirror it symmetrically to create the new closed sketch? Or do i have to manually re draw it? Jee Bee has somehow managed to use the existing outer edges although, I have yet to figure how he did it?
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3773
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby quick61 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:09 pm

Edgecutter wrote:NormandC,I understand I can pad a new sketch to fuse more thickness. I am wondering if there is relatively simple method I can use to copy the outer edge of the existing face in this area and mirror it symmetrically to create the new closed sketch? Or do i have to manually re draw it? Jee Bee has somehow managed to use the existing outer edges although, I have yet to figure how he did it?
He used the external geometry tool - Sketcher External - to use the external vertex and center points as reference and points of constraint, though there is some conflicting geometry in the sketch.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby NormandC » Tue Sep 13, 2016 2:25 am

Edgecutter wrote:I am wondering if there is relatively simple method I can use to copy the outer edge of the existing face in this area and mirror it symmetrically to create the new closed sketch? Or do i have to manually re draw it?
Sorry, I hadn't understood that part.

There is currently no quick and simple way to copy and mirror external geometry. There is a mirror tool in the Sketcher, but it does not work with external geometry. Linked external geometry acts as construction geometry in that it is discarded outside of the sketch editing mode. What Jee-Bee had to do is create "regular" geometry overlapping the external geometry.

Personally I don't like to have geometry overlapping each other. Which is why I'd suggest an alternate method: make your first Pad thicker, so it is equal to the overall thickness of your part; then rather than make a new Pad, create a Pocket that will take away the inverse region of the "boss".

Like Jee-Bee, I didn't add the small fillets in the corners. I prefer to add such details at the end as PartDesign (3D) features.
FC_Edgecutter_caliper_01.png
FC_Edgecutter_caliper_01.png (34.25 KiB) Viewed 1025 times
This alternate method has two advantages:
  • No overlapping geometry in the sketch
  • The outer faces are not split with a residual edge like with a Pad.
    FC_Edgecutter_caliper_02.png
    FC_Edgecutter_caliper_02.png (5.98 KiB) Viewed 1025 times
Attachments
caliper47.5_normandc1.FCStd
(24.88 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
Edgecutter
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:51 pm

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby Edgecutter » Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:35 am

Thank you NormandC and Jee-Bee you have both been most helpful. I can see I have much to learn! If you can point me to any specific tutorials that illustrate the techniques used this would be really useful.

Once again your help really appreciate
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1764
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: How do i pad extra thickness to this area?

Postby Jee-Bee » Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:45 am

Edgecutter wrote:If you can point me to any specific tutorials that illustrate the techniques used this would be really useful.
I think most complete information about the usage of FreeCAD can find in the manual.
The online version can be found here or if you prefer as pdf here