Broke my filliter??

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Mongrel_Shark

Broke my filliter??

Post by Mongrel_Shark »

HI everyone.

This is my first post here. Been lurking and FreeCADing for a while. So far managed not to break stuff. I'm still a n00bly beginner though.

I seem to have broken my fillet and chamfer tools??

I made some fishing lures to 3d print. Starting with a rectangle then pocketing it to get a taper at one end, then did some fillets etc and it was all good.
Got exactly what I wanted.

Then I tried to repeat the process with some different dimensions and now it wont fillet or chamfer the way it did.
Thought it could be my dimensions so tried to repeat the original sucsessful design. Now that wont work either.

Any ideas?

Here is my version details
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.16.6703 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: 2ce5c8d2e3020d05005ed71f710e09e9aa561f40
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

I'm a bit of a linux dummy so something is probably out of date. Have a different version on my laptop and I can't do much with it so reluctant to make changes. This version works for me so hoping to stick with it till I get better at freecad....

The 2 files attached with MK1 titles are the ones that worked.
The base is one of the attempts that wont fillet. Every time I try it comes up with errors on the fillet and makes the unchanged part invisible. Like in the attached badfillet file, which is just the base file with broken fillets applied.
I have tried a wide range of fillet radius values. It just wont work again. Even if I try to duplicate the original working model. Having some success with chamfers but they seem to be on the blink too.