Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Maavhamt
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:08 am

Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby Maavhamt » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:07 pm

Hi,

I have just updated me version of FreeCAD and now find the "Help" does not work, it says, :

The page could not be found.


'qthelp://org.freecad.usermanual/doc/Online_Help_Startpage.html'

I have never had that problem before. Am I doing sth wrong?

Second question, on "Dimension Drawing WB" I'd like to make the dimension off centre with the arrows. Is there a way of doing this?
Capture.GIF
Capture.GIF (2.49 KiB) Viewed 899 times
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Maavhamt
[/size]
User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby r-frank » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:19 pm

Maavhamt wrote: Second question, on "Dimension Drawing WB" I'd like to make the dimension off centre with the arrows. Is there a way of doing this?
> Select your dimension in the tree view
> on the "Data" tab, section "Parameters" set the parameter "auto place text" from "true" to "false".
> do a manual refresh (F5)
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
User avatar
Maavhamt
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:08 am

Re: Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby Maavhamt » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:29 pm

Thank you that works.
Maavhamt
[/size]
Dgingrey
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby Dgingrey » Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:06 pm

I am having the same problem with the F1 Help key.
I upgraded from v18.15870 to the following version

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15991 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 10c745175f8a121b594ee6b0612cc487ebf43ba1
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

and I get the same error message when pressing the "F1" key.
It was working correctly before the upgrade.
Now I also get the same error when I use v17 on the same PC.
Anyone have any ideas on solving this.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby triplus » Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:30 am

Likely the development builds don't have the documentation included.
Dgingrey
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby Dgingrey » Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:45 pm

The help documentation files are in their correct location in the "DOC" folder. If they are not then a different error message is displayed indicating so.
I tried going back to the previous build of version 18 and this did not solve the problem and now version 17 is doing the same thing.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby NormandC » Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:24 pm

Dgingrey
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Help & Dimension Drawing WB

Postby Dgingrey » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:59 pm

Thanks, I was able to solve the problem with the information in this link.