[Bug#2942 ][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

[Bug#2942 ][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby nemesis » Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:25 pm

Hi
blacey wrote:Thanks to @f3nix and @wmayer's Qt 5 heavy lifting, and some new formulae for shiboken2, pyside2 and pyside-tools, we are now able to build and deploy FreeCAD for macOS on both Qt5 and Qt4 with the plan to eliminate Qt4 once Qt5 proves usable/stable enough. We still need more end users to test the Qt 5 builds so please download and begin using the Qt5 builds and report any bugs or usability issues you encounter. It is helpful when reporting a purported Qt5 bug, to regress it in the Qt4 version and provide the comparative results, to ensure an efficient triage hence why both Qt5 and Qt4 are available on GitHub.
Thanks for the great job done!
so here is an issue I find on QT5 version :
When I cancel an operation, if I move the mouse over the tree, the operation/features in the tree are selected automatically.
I need to click once to cancel the selection. (valid on all files)

issue #2942
BugSelectTree.gif
BugSelectTree.gif (130.46 KiB) Viewed 952 times
Ok on QT 4 version.


QT5 :
OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10422 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (detached from 1ee6dcf)
Hash: 1ee6dcf75e73ad9b63569b98a87e9d7d8b115bcc
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0

QT4:
OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10423 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (detached from 45bf8ed)
Hash: 45bf8ed91ed1bd65d7c5750685f8c435c9b092cf
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Last edited by nemesis on Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.
chrisb
Posts: 19473
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Bug?][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby chrisb » Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:56 pm

I have that issue as well.
And there is one more which someone else please could verfy: In Sketcher if I end an operation like ending the polyline with a right click (or two fingers stroke on the touchpad in my case) the view is immediately scaled down several steps.
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: [Bug?][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby nemesis » Sun Mar 05, 2017 2:44 pm

chrisb wrote:I have that issue as well.
And there is one more which someone else please could verfy: In Sketcher if I end an operation like ending the polyline with a right click (or two fingers stroke on the touchpad in my case) the view is immediately scaled down several steps.
Unconfirmed.
Ok for me, no Zoom problem.
I'm using a "classic" mouse
OsxVersion.png
OsxVersion.png (26.78 KiB) Viewed 943 times
blacey
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: [Bug?][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby blacey » Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:17 pm

chrisb wrote:I have that issue as well.
And there is one more which someone else please could verfy: In Sketcher if I end an operation like ending the polyline with a right click (or two fingers stroke on the touchpad in my case) the view is immediately scaled down several steps.
Confirmed as an issue without resolution yet - https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p162436
blacey
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: [Bug#2942 ][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby blacey » Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:26 pm

nemesis wrote: When I cancel an operation, if I move the mouse over the tree, the operation/features in the tree are selected automatically.
I need to click once to cancel the selection. (valid on all files)

issue #2942

Ok on QT 4 version.
@nemesis - thank for you taking the time to test the Qt 5 build and to submit a high-quality bug report including regression information against Qt 4 - this is exactly what we need to identify and stamp out the issues in Qt 5. I have cc:'d the resident Qt and macOS experts that I am aware of (@f3nix, @triplus, @ian.rees) on this forum in hopes that one of them will have time to investigate and weigh in on the potential root cause and ideally remedy. Thanks again for taking the time to provide high-quality feedback.
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: [Bug#2942 ][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby nemesis » Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:03 pm

blacey wrote:
nemesis wrote: @nemesis - thank for you taking the time to test the Qt 5 build and to submit a high-quality bug report including regression information against Qt 4 - this is exactly what we need to identify and stamp out the issues in Qt 5. I have cc:'d the resident Qt and macOS experts that I am aware of (@f3nix, @triplus, @ian.rees) on this forum in hopes that one of them will have time to investigate and weigh in on the potential root cause and ideally remedy. Thanks again for taking the time to provide high-quality feedback.
You're Welcome!
I have other bug on the tre, but I suppose it's related to the first one.
Right click menu is persistant while clicking outside of the combo view.
another one is "set tip" present on the 3d view right click after a right click on the tree:
RightClick.gif
RightClick.gif (260.3 KiB) Viewed 921 times
If it's not related, just tell me, and I will create a a new bug report

I saw other "strange" things, but still trying to reproduce them :lol:
chrisb
Posts: 19473
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Bug#2942 ][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby chrisb » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:05 pm

Forgot my FreeCAD info:

MacBook Air

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10425 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (detached from db66835)
Hash: db66835c6361f236a68ede8db9386e86e10bc776
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
User avatar
f3nix
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:58 am

Re: [Bug?][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby f3nix » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:13 pm

blacey wrote:
chrisb wrote:I have that issue as well.
And there is one more which someone else please could verfy: In Sketcher if I end an operation like ending the polyline with a right click (or two fingers stroke on the touchpad in my case) the view is immediately scaled down several steps.
Confirmed as an issue without resolution yet - https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p162436
Hi blacey!

Answer in a wrong thread? ;)

Cheers,
Matuesz
User avatar
f3nix
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:58 am

Re: [Bug?][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby f3nix » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:14 pm

f3nix wrote:
blacey wrote:
chrisb wrote:I have that issue as well.
And there is one more which someone else please could verfy: In Sketcher if I end an operation like ending the polyline with a right click (or two fingers stroke on the touchpad in my case) the view is immediately scaled down several steps.
Confirmed as an issue without resolution yet - https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p162436
Hi blacey!

Answer in a wrong thread? ;)

Cheers,
Matuesz
PS. FYI the mention system does not work here in this forum. The plugin is not installed.
User avatar
f3nix
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:58 am

Re: [Bug#2942 ][qt5 - Osx] - automatic trees selection after cancel

Postby f3nix » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:21 pm

nemesis wrote:
issue #2942
Hi nemesis!

Unreproducible here.

OS: Debian GNU/Linux 9.0 (stretch)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10408 (Git)
Build type: Debug
Branch: master
Hash: 1ad149e633d084a3279427763250b0d7139228a7
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 5.7.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0

Maybe it is Mac specific.

Cheers,
Mateusz