[Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

[Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby nemesis » Sun Mar 05, 2017 2:53 pm

Hi,
When I create a New document, without a selected workbench, the icons are not visible until I drag the mouse over the tool bars
Sorry, the Gif is awful, but the bug is visible.

QT5 :
OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10422 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (detached from 1ee6dcf)
Hash: 1ee6dcf75e73ad9b63569b98a87e9d7d8b115bcc
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
OsxVersion.png
OsxVersion.png (26.78 KiB) Viewed 1065 times
BugIcon.gif
BugIcon.gif (401.69 KiB) Viewed 1065 times
Last edited by nemesis on Tue Mar 07, 2017 12:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: [Bug?][qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby nemesis » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:26 pm

other bug related to toolbars.
while changing from one WB to another, it's OK, but going back to "Start WB" there is the n-1 WB toolbar, where n is the last previous WB :
BugToolBar.gif
BugToolBar.gif (912.25 KiB) Viewed 1045 times
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby nemesis » Tue Mar 07, 2017 12:30 pm

blacey
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby blacey » Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:36 pm

nemesis wrote:issue #2953
Thanks! This issue will be resolved by @wmayer's (and/or @f3nix's) port to QOpenGLWidget that is underway.
triplus
Posts: 8605
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby triplus » Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:42 pm

nemesis wrote:When I create a New document, without a selected workbench, the icons are not visible until I drag the mouse over the tool bars
blacey wrote:Thanks! This issue will be resolved by @wmayer's (and/or @f3nix's) port to QOpenGLWidget that is underway.
In my opinion not. As there is no QGLWidget involved in the test @nemesis made. This issue will need a different fix. Looks to me more like some sort of toolbar related (and missing) repaint/update related issue.
triplus
Posts: 8605
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby triplus » Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:58 pm

Actually i now see there are 2 bugs reported here. If FreeCAD starts in Start workbench and no new document is created. Are the icons on the toolbar there or they need a "mouse over" to be made available? For all toolbars or just some?
chrisb
Posts: 17496
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby chrisb » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:14 pm

triplus wrote:Actually i now see there are 2 bugs reported here. If FreeCAD starts in Start workbench and no new document is created. Are the icons on the toolbar there or they need a "mouse over" to be made available? For all toolbars or just some?
- As long as no new document is created all icons and the workbench selector are visible.
- No matter which Workbench I use as startup WB (tested with Start, Part, Part Design): Open FreeCAD, click "New document": some Icons and the WB selector are not visible. They appear on screenchange (which sure creates a redraw event).
triplus
Posts: 8605
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby triplus » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:40 pm

I see and thanks for the explanation. In that case QGLWidget is involved and can influence the behaviour.

P.S. Best to wait for QOpenGLWidget port to be ready for testing.
blacey
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby blacey » Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:41 pm

triplus wrote:I see and thanks for the explanation. In that case QGLWidget is involved and can influence the behaviour.

P.S. Best to wait for QOpenGLWidget port to be ready for testing.
The proof is in eating the pudding. Test performed yesterday with Mateusz' QOpenGLWidget proof-of-concept branch.
QOpenGLWidget.gif
QOpenGLWidget.gif (803 KiB) Viewed 971 times
triplus
Posts: 8605
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: [Bug#2953][Qt5 - Osx] - Icons not rendered on New doc

Postby triplus » Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:52 pm

blacey wrote:Test performed yesterday with Mateusz' QOpenGLWidget proof-of-concept branch.
Where could one find such branch? As i wanted to test something for a long time now when it comes to QOpenGLWidget.

As for Draft Snap toolbar in PartDesign workbench. Do you by any chance use PersistentToolbars module? As there was only one issue reported about that in the past:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p135603

And as i am in the phase of upstreaming the functionality i am wondering if PersistentToolbars module influences this behaviour or not.