FEM Mesh Creation - What Are "Tet Parameters"?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
johnsmith

FEM Mesh Creation - What Are "Tet Parameters"?

Post by johnsmith »

I'm new to FreeCAD, CAD in general, and know nothing at all about FEM, so I am probably doing something incorrectly.

I have 7 solids that I have positioned with the assembly2 workbench. I combined them into one object using the Part Workbench's Make Compound tool. When I start to process of making a mechanical analysis, I get the mesh creation dialog ("Tet Parameter"), and when I press OK, it seems like it will never end. It just sits there using a full CPU core, and 5-10GB for RAM. I have 16GB of RAM, so that's fine, but I have a feeling it's trying to create a mesh more complex than practical.

What exactly do all the "Tet parameters" mean, and how can I modify them to speed up the mesh creation process?

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
r-frank
Veteran

Re: FEM Mesh Creation - What Are "Tet Parameters"?

Post by r-frank »

Hello John.

Welcome to FreeCAD and the forum.

Mastering 3D CAD can be a challenge and doing FEA Analysis is another level.
When doing an analysis on a solid we need to mesh the solid, apply "values of behaviour" (that means material
definitions like young's modulus, poisson ration and yield strength, ...) apply loads and constraints, and
then run the solver ...

For meshing we have different types of elements and different options for meshing.
For starters you may read here more ...