Sketcher hides gridlines

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Cyber3DK
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:40 pm

Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby Cyber3DK » Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:38 pm

Specific complaint: Sketcher is not rotating the drawing to make a line horizontal.

The problem is repeatable and how-to-reproduce is given in the attachment Sketcher_hides_gridlines_ap7b.pdf.

Thanks for considering this issue.

(Apologies for not even showing the Before and After screenshots here. My knowledge and/or system does not allow that at this time.)

Regards.
Attachments
Sketcher, Partial Grid Lines, Before.png
Sketcher, Partial Grid Lines, Before.png (3.98 KiB) Viewed 930 times
Sketcher, Partial Grid Lines, After.png
Sketcher, Partial Grid Lines, After.png (1.93 KiB) Viewed 930 times
Sketcher_hides_gridlines_ap7b.pdf
(37.91 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby NormandC » Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:25 am

That's an issue that's been there a long time, and there have been many topics about it. Basically, after the first item is added to the sketch, the grid will automatically re-size to it. The workaround is to create a large rectangle that is big enough for a "work area" in which the grid will be visible (but you need to close the sketch then re-open it to see the grid re-size). You only have to delete the rectangle once you don't need it anymore.

But FYI, as far as I know most commercial parametric CAD programs with a constraint-based sketcher don't provide a grid at all. It is only there for visual reference. For me the snap-to-grid option is a travesty because it creates the false impression that you sketch is fixed - it is not, only applying constraints will do that.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5797
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby bejant » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:47 am

Cyber3DK wrote:Specific complaint: Sketcher is not rotating the drawing to make a line horizontal
:lol: Those blasted templates...
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5797
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby bejant » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:57 am

Humor somewhat aside, someone already submitted a ticket about that. See here:
issue #1271
Cyber3DK
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:40 pm

Re: Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby Cyber3DK » Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:55 pm

Thanks. Let's close this thread and wait for issue #1271 to be resolved.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5238
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby sgrogan » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:04 am

If you put the issued in "bug" tags it will be linked.

Code: Select all

[bug]1271[/bug]
issue #1271
Cyber3DK
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:40 pm

Re: Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby Cyber3DK » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:08 am

Thanks.
Do I need to repeat my original message in the Forum?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5238
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Sketcher hides gridlines

Postby sgrogan » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:15 am

Cyber3DK wrote:Do I need to repeat my original message in the Forum?
No, we all learn as we go. Thanks for taking notice.