Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8440
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby bernd » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:41 pm

bejant wrote:To make the inside radius equal to the wall thickness, create a Construction Geometry (blue) line segment from the center point of an inside arc to the endpoint of the same arc, then apply an Equality Constraint between that new line segment and the existing Construction line segment.
BTW: Here is how i did the rectangular hollow in BOLTS:
https://github.com/jreinhardt/BOLTS/blo ... low.py#L23 and the drawing here: http://www.bolts-library.org/en/parts/n ... ofile.html

Ahh and the radius definition according EU: https://github.com/jreinhardt/BOLTS/blo ... low.py#L30
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5934
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby bejant » Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:40 am

Thank you for the links - I didn't realize there are generic profiles in BOLTS that the user can access in order to create custom shapes.
Montoya88
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:06 am

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby Montoya88 » Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:37 am

bernd wrote:have you had a look at BOLTS, it does exactly what you are looking for. I have myself extendend BOLTS to support nearly all european profiles. http://www.bolts-library.org including all these hollow ones ...
Hi Bernd, I've installed BOLTS. This is exactly what I'm looking for, and appreciate that you've created a part library for the community. However most of the parts are in metric units. The only shape I've found is ASME pipe which was in imperial units. I suppose I can create a conversion cheat sheet for the hollow structure, But I will definitely continue to reference the website to fully understand BOLTS.

I should have specified what I work with in the beginning; ASTM A36 hot worked steel.

Bejant being that I had minor discrepancies with my sketch I believe it will be more efficient to create a library of sizes as need then just extrude them in active workbenches.

If this doesn't seem like a crazy idea I also wouldn't mind sharing this "library".
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8440
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby bernd » Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:19 pm

Montoya88 wrote:
bernd wrote:have you had a look at BOLTS, it does exactly what you are looking for. I have myself extendend BOLTS to support nearly all european profiles. http://www.bolts-library.org including all these hollow ones ...
Hi Bernd, I've installed BOLTS. This is exactly what I'm looking for, and appreciate that you've created a part library for the community. However most of the parts are in metric units. The only shape I've found is ASME pipe which was in imperial units. I suppose I can create a conversion cheat sheet for the hollow structure, But I will definitely continue to reference the website to fully understand BOLTS.

I should have specified what I work with in the beginning; ASTM A36 hot worked steel.

Bejant being that I had minor discrepancies with my sketch I believe it will be more efficient to create a library of sizes as need then just extrude them in active workbenches.

If this doesn't seem like a crazy idea I also wouldn't mind sharing this "library".
The profile data is in blt files See https://github.com/jreinhardt/BOLTS/tree/master/data For example the european hollow profiles are defined in this file: https://github.com/jreinhardt/BOLTS/blo ... hollow.blt It is an easy to understand file format. Having the imperial profiles in BOLTS would be great !!! You just need an editor and the profile data to add them. Anything else is done so far since the hollows are in BOLTS already.

BTW: On my own repository I added a connection to Nemetschek Allplan and added the data of even more profiles (europea ...) Which would be L- and C-profiles. I need to get in contact with johannes to get all my development into BOLTS main repo https://github.com/berndhahnebach/BOLTS ... allplanbhb
Montoya88
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:06 am

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby Montoya88 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:31 am

Now BOLTS works for me, just convert desired units into mm and there it is. Thank you! This definitely speeds up time to create structural shapes even doing unit conversions.

Thank you Bejant, Bernd, and Normand C for your time is much appreciated.

If I can't find an existing topic covering the next question I have I will post it here.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8440
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby bernd » Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:19 am

@Montoya88:

I'm curious, what kind of models, drawing do you do with FreeCAD. We are always interested in what people do with FreeCAD. Do you have some screens :) ?

Bernd
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8440
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby bernd » Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:21 am

@Montoya88:

This might be of interest for you too. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=17035&hilit=arch check the pdf amazing ... https://github.com/oddtopus/flamingo/bl ... lFrame.pdf
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5934
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby bejant » Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:42 am

bernd wrote:The profile data is in blt files See https://github.com/jreinhardt/BOLTS/tree/master/data For example the european hollow profiles are defined in this file: https://github.com/jreinhardt/BOLTS/blo ... hollow.blt It is an easy to understand file format. Having the imperial profiles in BOLTS would be great !!! You just need an editor and the profile data to add them.
At first glance it looks like many of the shapes are the same sizes as used here in the U.S. but are designated using metric units, although I haven't looked into it very thoroughly.

I have other things going on right now so there is not much time I can spend on FreeCAD and I expect to be absent (or at best scarce) for several months. But after that, if nobody else has done so for imperial shapes, I'd like to look int this a bit more (although I'd probably update the Quick Reference guides to 0.17 changes first).
Montoya88
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:06 am

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby Montoya88 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 1:48 am

bernd wrote:@Montoya88:

I'm curious, what kind of models, drawing do you do with FreeCAD. We are always interested in what people do with FreeCAD. Do you have some screens :) ?

Bernd
Yes I do. But I want to give a huge thanks and appreciation to the FreeCAD developers and community to helping me making drafting/rendering possible.

I've included photos and their respective files to gauge where my skill-set is as far as drafting goes. Some don't have either because I may be re-working those files

Most of my work is low end fabrication because I'm still making a name for my-self in my community, as my work progresses I hope to seek fabricating higher end products/assemblies.
Attachments
Chile Roaster Full View.PNG
Chile Roaster Full View.PNG (485.65 KiB) Viewed 844 times
fRAME.FCStd
(45.25 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Main Assembly.FCStd
(890.04 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
Textile Roller.PNG
Textile Roller.PNG (535.2 KiB) Viewed 844 times
Smoker.PNG
Smoker.PNG (704.73 KiB) Viewed 844 times
Montoya88
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:06 am

Re: Welder looking to be more efficient using FreeCAD

Postby Montoya88 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:14 am

I would like to cut one of my square tubes at 45 degrees, it is going to be a leg because what I'm making is top heavy. so adding legs at an angle will help with that.

I've attempted to add a draft to the hollow tube and I'm having trouble doing so. I've include a picture of what I'm trying to do.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (12.64 KiB) Viewed 809 times