Curves workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Postby GlouGlou » Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:21 pm

drmacro wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:20 pm
GlouGlou wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:50 pm Blend surface: how to get more profiles? :cry:
Rail samples property?
no, profile property seems not working.
drmacro
Posts: 3391
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby drmacro » Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:22 pm

GlouGlou wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:21 pm
drmacro wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:20 pm
GlouGlou wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:50 pm Blend surface: how to get more profiles? :cry:
Rail samples property?
no, profile property seems not working.
um...I'm in 0.20 ATM, seems to work there.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:46 pm

GlouGlou wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:50 pm Blend surface: how to get more profiles? :cry:
The "Profile Samples" property is unused.
I think I used it to generate a point array, to build an interpolating surface.
Now that we have Gordon Surface, this is unused.
I should hide this property.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:47 pm

GlouGlou wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:20 pm Blend Curve small bug: reversed mode doesn't work with a 0 parameter. Then it's not possible to get the opposite side of edge.
I'll have look. Thanks.
drmacro
Posts: 3391
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby drmacro » Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:48 pm

Chris_G wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:46 pm
GlouGlou wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:50 pm Blend surface: how to get more profiles? :cry:
The "Profile Samples" property is unused.
I think I used it to generate a point array, to build an interpolating surface.
Now that we have Gordon Surface, this is unused.
I should hide this property.
but...when I increased it, it increased the number of "ribs" in @Glouglou's example file? :?
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Apr 13, 2021 7:33 am

drmacro wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:48 pm but...when I increased it, it increased the number of "ribs" in @Glouglou's example file? :?
Rail Samples controls the number of generated Blend curves along the 2 rails
Profile Samples is now unused.
drmacro
Posts: 3391
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby drmacro » Tue Apr 13, 2021 9:24 am

yes, I was using Rail samples. :oops:
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Postby GlouGlou » Tue Apr 13, 2021 4:41 pm

Chris_G wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:46 pm The "Profile Samples" property is unused.
I think I used it to generate a point array, to build an interpolating surface.
Now that we have Gordon Surface, this is unused.
I should hide this property.
It's a shame to not keep that feature anymore, gordon doesn't have continuity parameters.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Apr 13, 2021 5:07 pm

GlouGlou wrote: Tue Apr 13, 2021 4:41 pm It's a shame to not keep that feature anymore, gordon doesn't have continuity parameters.
Only the "Profile Samples" property is deprecated.
Not the whole BlendSurface tool.
As far as I can remember, before Gordon surface, both "Profile Samples" and "Rail Samples" were used to compute a array of points on the BlendSurface, and those points needed to be approximated or interpolated with another tool.
With Gordon surface added, I only needed to generate a curve network (= the 2 rails + a series of blend curves) to feed the Gordon tool, hence deprecating the "Profile Samples" property.
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Postby GlouGlou » Tue Apr 13, 2021 5:40 pm

You right, its possible to use a gordon with a blendsurface. So, the continuity of a gordon can be adjusted like this. ;)