Boolean operation with 2 shapes selected

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
crilex
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:20 pm

Re: Boolean operation with 2 shapes selected

Post by crilex »

chrisb wrote: Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:41 am
crilex wrote: Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:46 pm Lemme put the version on my signature so everyone can see what I'm currently running.
It is in fact :roll: , but not :lol: . What you need is :idea: :idea: . Please don't update your version anymore, nor change your OS. The reason is explained above. If you appreciated the help you found here, please have the courtesy to act according to forum guide lines, they might not be sensible to you, but they are for the people who invest their time here to help you. There is nothing arbitrary in them, everything has a good reason. If you don't think so, let us know, we are glad to improve.
Hey chrisb, I do appreciate not just the help that I'm getting here, but also all the effort from everyone who tries hard to improve the software.
Please provide your FreeCAD version info
Open the Help --> About FreeCAD menu then click on the "Copy to clipboard" button, and paste its content in the text input area. This will provide us valuable information on your exact version and revision number, your operating system as well as FreeCAD's internal libraries. (Mac users: the About FreeCAD menu is under the Apple menu.)
I only read this part of step 3 and I thought the "text input area" refers to the area where you add your signature.
Please do not attach a screen capture instead of posting the Help > About FreeCAD information from the clipboard. Don't add your FreeCAD info to your signature, as it will put it out of context.
This is the first time reading this phrase. :( Never thought for a second nor intended to go against forum guide lines, I just not paid attention to this portion.
When Kunda said:
Kunda1 wrote: ↑
Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:52 pm
Please don't. That would go against the forum guidelines (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2264)
I thought he made a sarcastic joke, reason being to go ahead and update my signature ASAP. :?
Give it a try, change your version number in the signature for a moment, and have a look at your first post. It clearly shows the source of future misunderstandings by naming two different version numbers at the same time.
Finally I got the point, it all make sense!

My apologies for not reading thoroughly thru the steps and misunderstanding your guys references!
:cry:
____
OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.11310 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (detached from d28bae3)
Hash: d28bae3f52b3e7cf959e8b9f7bcff264f95db191
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 54197
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Boolean operation with 2 shapes selected

Post by chrisb »

Now, if that's not an excuse ... and thus it's accepted.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
ebrahim raeyat
Posts: 621
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:00 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: Boolean operation with 2 shapes selected

Post by ebrahim raeyat »

I have same problem too. what i want is, that i have some faces that they create the shape of my foundation plane. I have some column on the foundation (all of them are at level 0.0). I want to calculate punching area for each column. punchig area is different for columns by their location (corner, edge, inner), but i find a easy solusion with freecad.
for calculating shear area, I must offset column to d/2 (d is depth of foundation) and calculate length of intersection this offset with foundation.

it is my 3d foundation with column (for better undrestanding!)
3d.png
3d.png (18.24 KiB) Viewed 1167 times
this is my first shape that I import programically to FreeCAD:
2D_first.png
2D_first.png (5.82 KiB) Viewed 1167 times
this is example of offset of one column:
red: column| green: offset| blue: intersection offset with foundation
red: column| green: offset| blue: intersection offset with foundation
offset.png (5.1 KiB) Viewed 1167 times
User avatar
ebrahim raeyat
Posts: 621
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:00 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: Boolean operation with 2 shapes selected

Post by ebrahim raeyat »

I found a solution for this problem. That is my steps:
1- creat a structures from arch WB with foundation faces.
2- make an union from foundation structures.
3- use part/refine shape
4- offset column to desired length and move that offset in foundation
5. use common method on part shape:

Code: Select all

total = fou.Shape.common(w.Shape)
6- use section method of part shape:

Code: Select all

ext = fou.Shape.section(w.Shape)
7- and final step to determine length:

Code: Select all

total.Length - ext.Length
Note: fou= foundation and w= is offset column
answer3D.png
answer3D.png (29.6 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
answer.png
answer.png (9.07 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
answer2D.png
answer2D.png (17.37 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
User avatar
ebrahim raeyat
Posts: 621
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:00 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: Boolean operation with 2 shapes selected

Post by ebrahim raeyat »

hooom! I found a better solution for this problem that I cad directly obtain compound of faces that intersect with my foundation. I fount it here:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=8018

I move them up for better viewing:
compound.png
compound.png (43.74 KiB) Viewed 1142 times
Post Reply