Polar Pattern - Shapes do not Intersect Support

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
FreeCAD97990

Polar Pattern - Shapes do not Intersect Support

Post by FreeCAD97990 »

Hi,
I'm a recently retired Chartered Engineer, and am using FreeCAD 0.17 to do some real design work. I have had some 25 years in Product Design consultancy, working alongside people using NX/Ideas, SolidWorks, Creo, and Ansys and Abacus FEA.

I am finding 0.17 is now almost bug-free, and very much better to work with than 0.16. With 0.16 you often ended up fighting the CAD, and there were many things that you just could not do. With 0.17 you can sit down with some confidence that you will complete the task. (But the parts I am working on are not very complicated). I am using the FEM package too, and getting good results.

Thank you very much for FreeCAD, on behalf of myself, and engineers everywhere. Please keep up the good work!!!

There is a problem I have encountered which is preventing me from using the Polar Pattern tool. I have created a Plate (see image below), and then used the Pocket tool to make a line depression graduation (0.1 wide x 0.1 deep) on the Plate which indicates a zero degree angular position. I am then using the Polar Pattern tool to create other degree graduations (0...360 degrees) on the Plate at 10 degree intervals. I have created an Axis Datum for the Polar Pattern. This Axis Datum does NOT intersect the Plate.

I have used the Polar Pattern Tool, and it does everything that I wanted it to do. It gives me all of the graduation lines that there should be on the plate. Good!! Now I want to proceed to do the shorter 5 degree and then do the 1 degree graduations......