Mesh Design WB some tools don't work on translated object

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
yclee126
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:13 pm
Location: South Korea

Mesh Design WB some tools don't work on translated object

Postby yclee126 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:31 am

I forgot to post a topic in forum first. I'm sorry about that.

In Mesh Design workbench, the mesh cut tool(Cuts a mesh with a picked polygon) and some others don't work on object which has placement value, they act like if the object is not translated.
The following example is for mesh cut tool, also I've found same error in Curvature plot tool and Split mesh tool.(I didn't test error for other tools)

1.Create a new document
2.Set to top view(2)
3.Go to Mesh Design WB
4.Meshes > Regular soild > Create a 10x10x10mm cube
5.Select the cube > placement (...) > type 10mm for x coordinate > OK
6.Select the cube, execute the mesh cut tool
7.select right-bottom part of the cube with triangle shape > inner
8.The cube does not being cut
9.Do step 6
10.Do step 7, but select it like if the cube was not translated
11.The cube being cut.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 6076
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Mesh Design WB some tools don't work on translated object

Postby bejant » Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:38 pm

yclee126 wrote:
Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:31 am
In Mesh Design workbench, the mesh cut tool(Cuts a mesh with a picked polygon) and some others don't work on object which has placement value, they act like if the object is not translated.

I'm not quite sure how the "Cut a mesh with picked polygon" tool is supposed to work (I expected the cut to be the same shape as my polygon), but it does indeed seem to act like the cube is at the original location. I can confirm the unexpected behavior using

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.16.6712 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: da2d364457257a7a8c6fb2137cea12c45becd71a
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

and

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.17.11797 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: a5080329d8da6653495df686efbda62e73ac950a
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
yclee126
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:13 pm
Location: South Korea

Re: Mesh Design WB some tools don't work on translated object

Postby yclee126 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:58 pm

bejant wrote:
Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:38 pm
I can confirm the unexpected behavior
Thank you for testing!

Bugtracker link : https://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=3169
(Since it's uploaded before this post, there are some grammatical error in title I've missed. But I don't know how to edit the title)