Assembly 2 - Import temporary part

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
JensElmo
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:16 am

Assembly 2 - Import temporary part

Postby JensElmo » Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:43 am

I am working on a larger assembly. I added something to a subassembly, and updated the main assembly.
Then instead of updating the part the whole updated part was added at a random location instead.
This happened while using the Assembly 2 module.

This is the first project I am working on in FreeCad, had previous used SolidWorks.

Pictures:
Image Image

I tried searching the Forums but could not find a similar problem.

FreeCad
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6712 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: da2d364457257a7a8c6fb2137cea12c45becd71a
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
User avatar
Willem
Posts: 1320
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Lisse, The Netherlands

Re: Assembly 2 - Import temporary part

Postby Willem » Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:46 pm

Hi, welcome to the Freecad forum,

we have not sufficient information to tell you what went wrong, but here is a video tutorial that shows how to work with Assembly2.
The tutorial is approx 35 minutes and the first 25 minutes are about creating the parts for the model and the last 10 minutes are about the assembly
phpBB [video]
triplus
Posts: 9277
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Assembly 2 - Import temporary part

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:57 pm

Hi @JensElmo and welcome.
JensElmo wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:43 am
I added something to a subassembly, and updated the main assembly.
When you add or remove geometry in a sub-assembly. You usually need to redefine assembly relations after.

P.S. What happens is things like number of faces changes in sub-assembly. And as a result relation gets added to a different face. ATM there are no topology/geometry based solutions available in FreeCAD to mitigate such behavior.