GeoData

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

GeoData

Postby hardeeprai » Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:11 am

If this is not the right place to ask this question, please advise me where to post.

It might be difficult to answer queries about many workbenches in this forum. But I couldn't find a right forum, where I could post.

I tried "Geo Data" workbench to import OSM data and prepare a site.

From following dialogue box, how area is selected, is not clear. Can anyone explain meaning of:

0*2_4_6_8*#*2_4_

displayed in dialogue box.

It says:

Length of the square 0 to 4 km with default 0.5km

But I got rectangle.
g202Cropped.png
g202Cropped.png (46.34 KiB) Viewed 1078 times
--
H.S.Rai
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5912
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: GeoData

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:32 am

microelly2 wrote:ping
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Re: GeoData

Postby hardeeprai » Sun Apr 01, 2018 4:46 pm

The position in GeoData -> Create Houses, in which it is supposed to enter latitude and longitude of house, has no effect.

Is it right behaviour and is it a design feature?
--
H.S.Rai
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4440
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: GeoData

Postby microelly2 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:59 am

hardeeprai wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 4:46 pm
The position in GeoData -> Create Houses, in which it is supposed to enter latitude and longitude of house, has no effect.

Is it right behaviour and is it a design feature?
There is still no use of these data. The idea was to have some "control objects" which map lat/lot coordinates to the origin of the 3D space. Then there will be a mapping of the houses to the right place. We will implement these features when we implement the stationing concept for the transportation workbench.
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4440
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: GeoData

Postby microelly2 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:02 am

hardeeprai wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:11 am

It says:

Length of the square 0 to 4 km with default 0.5km
But I got rectangle.
Yes you are right. The size of the downloaded area is nearly quadratic but depends on the position lat/lon
I made a fast hack ...

b1=b-bk/1113*10
l1=l-lk/713*10
b2=b+bk/1113*10
l2=l+lk/713*10
source='http://api.openstreetmap.org/api/0.6/ma ... ,'+str(b2)
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Re: GeoData

Postby hardeeprai » Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:20 pm

microelly2 wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:02 am
Yes you are right. The size of the downloaded area is nearly quadratic but depends on the position lat/lon
I made a fast hack ...

b1=b-bk/1113*10
l1=l-lk/713*10
b2=b+bk/1113*10
l2=l+lk/713*10
source='http://api.openstreetmap.org/api/0.6/ma ... ,'+str(b2)
Could not get you about the "quadratic".

I believe is equivalent to:

<q>
latitudinal distance along any meridian (exact)
latitudinal distance (in metres) = (decimal latitude A - decimal latitude B) * 111 120 m
longitudinal distance along an average parallel (approximation; the highest the difference of the two latitudes, the lowest is the precision)
longitudinal distance (in metres) ≈ (decimal longitude A - decimal longitude B) * cos(average latitude) * 111 120m

* [Source] https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Pre ... to_decimal
</q>

It is OK, if size is approximate.

I was more curious to understand following:

0*2_4_6_8*#*2_4_
--
H.S.Rai
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: GeoData

Postby Suraj Dadral » Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:47 pm

hardeeprai wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:11 am
If this is not the right place to ask this question, please advise me where to post.

It might be difficult to answer queries about many workbenches in this forum. But I couldn't find a right forum, where I could post.

I tried "Geo Data" workbench to import OSM data and prepare a site.

From following dialogue box, how area is selected, is not clear. Can anyone explain meaning of:

0*2_4_6_8*#*2_4_

displayed in dialogue box.

It says:

Length of the square 0 to 4 km with default 0.5km

But I got rectangle.

g202Cropped.png
I have updated the osm GUI. Now you can also copy and paste URL from some map providers instead of only entering (latitude,longitude). You can give it a try. The source code is here:
https://github.com/SurajDadral/geodata
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Re: GeoData

Postby hardeeprai » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:34 am

Suraj Dadral wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:47 pm
I have updated the osm GUI. Now you can also copy and paste URL from some map providers instead of only entering (latitude,longitude). You can give it a try. The source code is here:
https://github.com/SurajDadral/geodata
Wow!

Thank you Suraj for making it more user friendly.

@microelly2

Please see it, and if you find it useful, include it in your code, so that users can get it via FreeCAD's addon manager.
--
H.S.Rai
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5912
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: GeoData

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:15 am

@suraj perhaps make a PR to the geodata repo ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: GeoData

Postby Suraj Dadral » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:33 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:15 am
@suraj perhaps make a PR to the geodata repo ?
I have made pull request to geodata repository of microelly2.
Here is my PR:

https://github.com/microelly2/geodata/pull/10