Groups breaking dependency graph

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dbecad
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:10 pm

Groups breaking dependency graph

Postby dbecad » Tue May 08, 2018 5:29 am

Good day,
while I was trying to organize bodies I decided to use a group, and it seems that it breaks the dependency graph, all the axes and other objects in a body will be displayed outside:
groupBreak.png
groupBreak.png (50.17 KiB) Viewed 227 times
I've reproduced it in 0.17 & 0.18, I could not find any mention in the forum. Should I file a bug?
Cheers


===========

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13509 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 0258808ccb6ba3bd5ea9312f79cd023f1a8671b7
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
>>>GraphViz 2.38

--------------

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13661 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 7fa81fd2e66a35b69a11c11bae38126eebac4b3f
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
>>>GraphViz 2.26
chrisb
Posts: 17593
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Groups breaking dependency graph

Postby chrisb » Tue May 08, 2018 6:06 am

It is probably a bug. It might have been undetected because now you can use in most cases the Part Container instead of a group.
dbecad
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:10 pm

Re: Groups breaking dependency graph

Postby dbecad » Tue May 08, 2018 2:55 pm

I'm using containers more for functional aspect (bodies that will move together) so groups sounded like a good option to organize the library of bodies (I'm using a lot of clones of the same bodies, so having the master shapes separated is nice).

Bug submitted: https://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=3465

Cheers
chrisb
Posts: 17593
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Groups breaking dependency graph

Postby chrisb » Tue May 08, 2018 3:39 pm

dbecad wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 2:55 pm
Bug submitted: https://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=3465
I allowed myself to change the text of the backling, it said "Your text to link here...".
In case you have to reference a bug again: you can simply type the number between the bug tags available as buttons on top of the edit field:

Code: Select all

[bug]3465[/bug]
yielding: issue #3465.
dbecad
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:10 pm

Re: Groups breaking dependency graph

Postby dbecad » Tue May 08, 2018 5:38 pm

chrisb wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 3:39 pm
bug tags
Thanks for the tip, I do find them as I'm going though my first project ;)
FC is still an amazing piece of free software, well worth the effort to figure out some work-around when things become a bit strange :)
Cheers