How to turn a table of offsets into a hull and Ship Workbench...

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jebrown215

How to turn a table of offsets into a hull and Ship Workbench...

Post by jebrown215 »

Hello!

TOTAL newbie here to 3D cad period, let alone FreeCAD. I've been messing with this program for probably a cumulative total of 40hrs at this point and I'm kind of getting pretty discouraged. I feel like there's an "Ah ha!" moment coming, but I never quite get there.

I am building a steel sailboat and have the hull completed. I need to design the interior and am hoping to use FreeCAD to do that so that I can get a realistic perspective/model of what my thoughts regarding design will translate to once I put the interior in the boat. I have the original plans for the boat (no interior plan was drawn) and the original Table of Offsets and am trying to just get the hull into FreeCAD. I have gone through most of the YouTube tutorials and done the part design exercises with success, but I still don't know how to get the table of offsets I have into FreeCAD in any kind of usable way.

Does anyone know how to do this?

I've tried to use the ship workbench, but despite reinstalling and resetting FreeCAD multiple times, I can't get any ship examples to load and keep getting errors. Does anyone know how to actually make a ship instance from scratch so I can even use the ship workbench?

This is really frustrating and any help AT ALL you guys could give me would be really appreciated. Does anyone know of any tutorials that I haven't found yet regarding boat design and FreeCAD? The Ship Workbench tutorial does't seem to apply, and even if it did, I can't get the examples to load to work through the tutorial.