[SOLVED]Slice one body to more parts

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
aszodi95
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 6:30 am

[SOLVED]Slice one body to more parts

Postby aszodi95 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:16 am

Hi,

I'd like to import an STEP file but it will be in FreeCAD only one part/body. I'd like to know that is it possible to cut/slice this part to more parts? Because after in FEM I have to give different materials to the parts.

So for example we have a beam and it is only one part we cut it into pieces and then with boolean fragments we unit them then go to FEM.
But how can I cut it into separated pieces?

Thank you in advance for your help/answer!

EDIT
*If I create every part in the other CAD software and assemble them, then import this asm in step it works fine. But if you know how to separate one part into more please tell me.*

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13522 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 3bb5ff4e70c0c526f2d9dd69b1004155b2f527f2
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Last edited by aszodi95 on Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:18 am, edited 2 times in total.
chrisb
Posts: 16858
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Slice one body to more parts

Postby chrisb » Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:23 am

Imported Step objects are solids. You can apply e.g. Part Slice to it.
aszodi95
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 6:30 am

Re: Slice one body to more parts

Postby aszodi95 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:17 am

chrisb wrote:
Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:23 am
Imported Step objects are solids. You can apply e.g. Part Slice to it.
Thank you!
I already tried with slice but I used datum plane :/ Now with normal plane works :)
chrisb
Posts: 16858
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Slice one body to more parts

Postby chrisb » Fri Jun 29, 2018 12:25 pm

aszodi95 wrote:
Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:17 am
I already tried with slice but I used datum plane :/ Now with normal plane works :)
Good to hear. You can use a CompoundFilter to extract the resulting parts from the slice. I'm afraid there is no documentation until tonight or this weekend.