2nd contrib. Question/bug-report? Toggling on the grid for a second document not showing grid.

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
wisecad
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:44 am

2nd contrib. Question/bug-report? Toggling on the grid for a second document not showing grid.

Postby wisecad » Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:32 am

Dear FreeCAD team/community

This is my second post. On my first, unbeknownst to me, I had ran into a bug that arises when using the draft workbench to draw a two-point rectangle using the relative-coordinates option for the second point, preventing the rectangle from having the desired height. This time I am surely hoping I am doing something wrong and this is not a bug. Below is s sequence of steps needed to replicate the problem. The problem I am having now now has to do with not being able to toggle the grid on after closing a document and creating a new one.

Sequence of steps:
1 - Open a new session of FreeCAD
2 - Close the start page document
3 - Select the draft workbench
4 - Create a new document
5 - On the draft workbench click the icon to toggle the grid on.
6 - Create another new document. Whether the first document stays open or not seems to make no difference.
8 - On the draft workbench click the icon to try to toggle the grid on.

On the 8th step, after clicking the draft workbench's icon to toggle the grid on, the grid won't appear on the second document like it did on the first document. However, something strange happens, when returning to the first document (if I keep it open) the grid has been turned off. Turning the grid back on for the first document or leaving it off does not seem to have any effect on being able to turn it on for the second document.

How can I turn the grid on for my second document? Am I doing it wrong or is this a bug?

Thanks in advance for your time and for your answers.

Raoul
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: 2nd contrib. Question/bug-report? Toggling on the grid for a second document not showing grid.

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 10:03 am

Please always post your Help > About FreeCAD > copy to clipboard like bejant did in your previous post when he tested your bug on 3 different versions of FC. This is valuable info to testers and devs when they read your posts. Along with posterity that may find this post through a search engine query in the future. Thanks!
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5052
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: 2nd contrib. Question/bug-report? Toggling on the grid for a second document not showing grid.

Postby bejant » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:08 pm

Looks like you've found another bug.
wisecad wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:32 am
Sequence of steps:
1 - Open a new session of FreeCAD
2 - Close the start page document
3 - Select the draft workbench
4 - Create a new document
5 - On the draft workbench click the icon to toggle the grid on.
6 - Create another new document. Whether the first document stays open or not seems to make no difference.
8 - On the draft workbench click the icon to try to toggle the grid on.
Was there a step 7 that was deleted, or is step 8 a typo?

wisecad wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:32 am
How can I turn the grid on for my second document?
It looks like after switching to the document which wasn't active, the view needs to be refreshed before the results of toggling the Draft WB Grid can be seen. After changing to the other document, click something like Create Line or Create Circle too, then quit out of it without actually creating any geometry. Now the results of toggling the Grid are shown in the 3D view.

Tested using:

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.17.13528 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 5c3f7bf8ec51e2c7187789f7edba71a7aa82a88b
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.18.14220 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 1d81fd66b84af9ef8330ba1f1f6d1c5d6443f0c4
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
wisecad
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:44 am

Re: 2nd contrib. Question/bug-report? Toggling on the grid for a second document not showing grid.

Postby wisecad » Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:21 am

Thanks again to Bejant and Kunda for your assitance.
Yes, I should make a habit of posting the Help/About info to provide more details about my environment.
Here it is:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13522 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 3bb5ff4e70c0c526f2d9dd69b1004155b2f527f2
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: 2nd contrib. Question/bug-report? Toggling on the grid for a second document not showing grid.

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:16 pm

wisecad wrote:
Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:21 am
Thanks again to Bejant and Kunda for your assitance.
Yes, I should make a habit of posting the Help/About info to provide more details about my environment.
Here it is:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13522 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 3bb5ff4e70c0c526f2d9dd69b1004155b2f527f2
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
There are some spreadsheet fixes made for 0.18dev already. You could also run 0.18dev simultaneously on your system if you want to test and see if bugs you find have been fixed but not released yet. Just remember that files created or opened with 0.18dev won't work reliably if you then re-open them in 0.17.

Download daily 0.18dev versions from https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.18_pre
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features