Numerical input on object creation

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
zbigg
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:11 pm

Numerical input on object creation

Postby zbigg » Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:04 pm

hi,
Re Arch WS: Is it possible to enter required eg length while creating a wall ?
I mean: I stretch the wall along some /SHIFT locked/ constraint/axis and need to just enter a number, without jumping between panels, panes and input fields?
cheers,
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: Numerical input on object creation

Postby meme2704 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:52 pm

Hi
I do not understand the question: there are 2 ways to create 1 wall
-input the coordinates of the starting point (X, Y, Z) then long, width, height of the wall
or
- you draw the trace of the wall, then width and height of the wall
User avatar
zbigg
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: Numerical input on object creation

Postby zbigg » Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:55 pm

Just answering: I draw the trace /start point/ then want to enter just the length.
Direction/axis has been locked on start with <Shift> key.
Sketchup would be best reference.
cheers,
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 6076
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Numerical input on object creation

Postby bejant » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:15 pm

zbigg wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:55 pm
I draw the trace /start point/ then want to enter just the length.
Direction/axis has been locked on start with <Shift> key.
Drag the cursor out of the 3D view.
Look at the panel on the left; a length can be entered from the keyboard.
User avatar
zbigg
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: Numerical input on object creation

Postby zbigg » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:46 pm

ok, it works partially. I wanted to have it on numerical block, here it does not work.
Btw its NOT best idea to lock axes with SHIFT when SHIFT produces also different codes when pressed alongside.
SO-if you need to draw a wall along X/Y of your UCS, you drag the wall from some point and want to input its length -
- with Shift already pressed you'll obtain rubbish instead of a numerical value.
This needs to be redesigned.
cheers,
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 6076
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Numerical input on object creation

Postby bejant » Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:03 pm

Last edited by bejant on Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 6076
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Numerical input on object creation

Postby bejant » Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:08 am

zbigg wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:46 pm
I wanted to have it on numerical block, here it does not work.
I don't know what you mean here.

zbigg wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:46 pm
Btw its NOT best idea to lock axes with SHIFT when SHIFT produces also different codes when pressed alongside.
SO-if you need to draw a wall along X/Y of your UCS, you drag the wall from some point and want to input its length -
- with Shift already pressed you'll obtain rubbish instead of a numerical value.
Then after dragging the cursor out of the 3D view:
1. Stop pressing the Shift key, or
2. Stop pressing the mouse button, or
3. Stop pressing both the Shift key and the mouse button.

See my previous reply; I'll edit it after I post this one.

After pressing the Shift key, moving the Line in the direction I want (vertically in the screen grab) until the cursor is out of the 3D view, this is what it looks like for me:
20180817a.png
20180817a.png (120 KiB) Viewed 341 times

So all I have to do next is key in the numbers I want and then press the Enter key.


OS: Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.18.14220 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 1d81fd66b84af9ef8330ba1f1f6d1c5d6443f0c4
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
zbigg
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: Numerical input on object creation

Postby zbigg » Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:41 am

ok-got it, works as expected.
But same problem as pointed in thread: Opening height.
I key in eg: 121 and obtain 12,5cm instead. Dont make me to add 'cm' to the typed number :?
Units set to CM.
cheers,