File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
fiffo
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:57 am

File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby fiffo » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:01 am

Hi,
I have always the same problem:
I import CON-CUI_PJ-050AH.STEP file and the import work well.
With "placement" I change the position of part and I export as CON-CUI_PJ-050AH_A.STEP.

BUT now if I open CON-CUI_PJ-050AH_A.STEP, the part is not only one but inside there are a lot sub_part.
The command union part don't work.
I need a file with only one part inside.
How I can do?
Is it not possible to have a macro or scripts to generare only one part?
Thanks a lot
Attachments
New folder.7z
(126.21 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby meme2704 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:57 pm

Hi
Well, here I am, uncompress your file, open in Fc, extract 5 solid, and then :?:
To have an object, you hide 4 and make it visible 1
Attachments
cui-cui.PNG
cui-cui.PNG (32.51 KiB) Viewed 296 times
cui-cui.FCStd
(35.1 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
fiffo
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:57 am

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby fiffo » Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:16 pm

Hi,
thanks a lot.
Can you explain how do you do and what file you are used to start?
Thanks a lot
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby meme2704 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:08 pm

After decompressing your file, CON-CUI .... step, I import it into Fc,
then "Draft Wb, the big blue arrow down" decompose an object,
then move each object with "Placement
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby NormandC » Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:05 pm

No problem doing a Image Part Union on all solids from CON-CUI_PJ-050AH_A.STEP.

The exported STEP file CON-CUI_PJ-050AH_B.STEP contains a single solid.
Attachments
CON-CUI_PJ-050AH_B.STEP
(235.52 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
CON-CUI_PJ-050AH_B.FCStd
(77.92 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
fiffo
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:57 am

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby fiffo » Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:20 am

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14956 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 0e948db5a38bed9b8ac177fb77756161b45489b6
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

Sorry but I don't understand..i try but don't work.
Canyou explain step by step how for the attachment file I can export .step file with only one part inside.
Thanks a lot and sorry for my understanding.
Attachments
1000holes_15X3_P254.step
(267.14 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby meme2704 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 7:26 am

Basic action as in any software:
You select the first object, press the Ctrl key, select the other objects
or you select the first, Shift key pressed, you go to the last
when they are all selected (on blue background), you click on Boolean merge
and you export merge to STEP file
If you want to change the merge coordinates, you select "Placement, Position and modify X, Y, or Z
Attachments
STEP.PNG
STEP.PNG (92.02 KiB) Viewed 227 times
fiffo
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:57 am

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby fiffo » Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:41 pm

Hi,
I following your information but when I open step exported file, inside there are always a lot parts.
Before export , I seleceted only fusion and export on step file.
in Attachment the exported step file.
When I esported in .step file, in the report view is wrote: "Part::MultiFuse: Links go out of the allowed scope".. I don't know if this is important informatio...
Attachments
1000holes_15X3_P254_fuzzyunion.step
(267.08 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby meme2704 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:02 pm

I feel like you're one of those unfortunate people lost in "partDesign,
If so, it's not for me, it's "Terra Incognita" in my head
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: File .STEP non as single part - union don't work right

Postby NormandC » Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:44 pm

fiffo wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:41 pm
I following your information but when I open step exported file, inside there are always a lot parts.
In the last STEP file you provided, you have a multitude of cylinders that are far apart from each other. You cannot create a single solid out of them, because they do not touch each other.

In FreeCAD, Part Union works, but it creates a "compound", which is a container of multiple solids. But the STEP format does not recognize compounds, it only recognize assemblies and parts. So the 1000holes_15X3_P254_fuzzyunion.step file is correct: it creates a "Fusion" container (assembly) that contains all the cylinders (parts). The "Fusion" can be moved as a single unit.

It's just how the STEP format works. There is nothing you can do to change that.

fiffo wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:41 pm
When I esported in .step file, in the report view is wrote: "Part::MultiFuse: Links go out of the allowed scope".. I don't know if this is important informatio...
This is not relevant to your issue. This error happens because you create a "Fusion" object with solids that are in a "Part container" (Image). This creates unallowed cross-linking, but it does not prevent the operation from succeeding.

To get rid of this error, you have two choices:
  1. Put the "Fusion" inside the yellow container.
  2. Before using Part Union, select all solids and put them outside of the yellow container by drag & dropping over the Document label in the Model tree.