Drawing dimensions

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Maavhamt
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:08 am

Drawing dimensions

Postby Maavhamt » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:16 am

I haven't used FreeCAD for a while and a few things have changed. I need to change a dimensions on an old drawing I last worked on on 4/9/15. I downloaded the latest version of FreeCAD and opened the drawing no problem and changed the dimension in the sketch. But I can't change the dimension shown either in the Drawing or TechDraw workbenches. The icons for adding dimensions are grey. There used to be a Drawing Dimensions workbench which seems to have disappeared. Any ideas or do I have to draw the whole thing again? :oops:
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13541 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 9948ee4f1570df9216862a79705afb367b2c6ffb
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (90.14 KiB) Viewed 344 times
Maavhamt
[/size]
chrisb
Posts: 28913
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Drawing dimensions

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:32 am

DrawingDimensioning is an additional workbench. You have to install it via the Addon Manager.

For new Drawings I recommend to use TechDraw from now on.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Maavhamt
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:08 am

Re: Drawing dimensions

Postby Maavhamt » Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:26 am

Thank you yes that worked. I downloaded the addon and could edit the dimensions.
But for some reason I can't change the drawing label data, I can't remember how to do it..
Attachments
Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (41.7 KiB) Viewed 333 times
Maavhamt
[/size]
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Drawing dimensions

Postby wandererfan » Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:46 pm

Maavhamt wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:26 am
But for some reason I can't change the drawing label data, I can't remember how to do it..
"Editable Texts" in the PropertyEditor. Press the ellipsis and you'll get a little editor popup.
EditableTexts.png
EditableTexts.png (37.29 KiB) Viewed 318 times
User avatar
Maavhamt
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:08 am

Re: Drawing dimensions

Postby Maavhamt » Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:50 pm

Ok thanks again. Sorry, I have another queston, I can now edit them but how do I move them?
Maavhamt
[/size]
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Drawing dimensions

Postby wandererfan » Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:57 pm

Maavhamt wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:50 pm
Ok thanks again. Sorry, I have another queston, I can now edit them but how do I move them?
You'd have to edit the Template Svg code in a text editor. Look for something like this:

Code: Select all

<g
	id="titleblock-text-editable"
	style="font-size:5px;text-anchor:middle;fill:#000000;font-family:osifont"
	xml:space="preserve">
	<text freecad:editable="AUTHOR NAME" x="50" y="236"><tspan>AUTHOR NAME</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="DRAWING TITLE" x="110" y="236"><tspan>DRAWING TITLE</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="SI-1" x="80" y="247"><tspan></tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="FreeCAD DRAWING" x="80" y="254"><tspan>FreeCAD DRAWING</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="SI-3" x="80" y="261"><tspan></tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="FC-SI" x="150" y="236"><tspan>A4</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="FC-SH" x="170" y="236"><tspan>X / Y</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="FC-SC" x="190" y="236"><tspan>SCALE</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="PN" x="180" y="244"><tspan>PN</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="DN" x="180" y="252"><tspan>DN</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="FC-DATE" x="160" y="263"><tspan>DD/MM/YYYY</tspan></text>
	<text freecad:editable="FC-REV" x="190" y="263"><tspan>REV A</tspan></text>
</g>
In addition to the x&y coords, you might want to change "text-anchor:middle" to "text-anchor:start".