Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
hooshsim
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby hooshsim » Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:24 pm

Looking for some directions on how to create a geometry and add it to the existing part (FreeCAD 0.17, Windows 7, Release 8/2018).

The intent is to fill the notch using the curves and highlighted faces.

Thanks in advance - HooshSim
Attachments
Stiffening.FCStd
(681.99 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Fill.PNG
Fill.PNG (14.94 KiB) Viewed 430 times
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5950
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby bejant » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:23 am

One way:

In the Part WB, click the Shapebuilder tool:
Image
  • Choose the "Face from edges" radio button.
  • Select the 3 edges on top. and click the Create button.
  • Make another face on the bottom, then one more face on the end.
  • Click the "Shell from faces" radio button.
  • Select the top or bottom face you just created, press Spacebar to hide it, and click the other two faces you created, and the two inside faces of the model.
  • Click the Create button.
  • Click the "Solid from shell" radio button.
  • Click the Model tab and in the history tree select Shell.
  • Click the Tasks tab to go back to the Shapebuilder tool, then click the Create button.
  • Click the Close button to exit the Shepebuilder tool.

20190201a.png
20190201a.png (16.16 KiB) Viewed 418 times

20190201a-stiffening.FCStd
(847.63 KiB) Downloaded 5 times


From the Part WB, use the Booleans tool;:
Image
or the Boolean Union tool:
Image
to make a Fusion of Solid and Common.


OS: Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.17.13541 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 9948ee4f1570df9216862a79705afb367b2c6ffb
Python version: 2.7.15rc1
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 19540
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby chrisb » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:42 am

How comes that I cannot take the 4-sided front as the hidden face, but only one of the triangulars?
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5950
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby bejant » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:19 pm

I don't know... the Face has to be visible when selecting it. Selecting, from the history tree, a Face that has visibility toggled to Off isn't working for me using the 0.17 version listed below. I haven't tried using my 0.18 version.

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.17.13541 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 9948ee4f1570df9216862a79705afb367b2c6ffb
Python version: 2.7.15rc1
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 19540
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby chrisb » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:24 pm

I meant something different.
bejant wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:23 am
Select the top or bottom face you just created, press Spacebar to hide it,
In your description you open the top or bottom face to make the inside available. That works for me. But if I select the rectangular front and do exactly the same it doesn't work.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5950
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby bejant » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:40 pm

chrisb wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:24 pm
But if I select the rectangular front and do exactly the same it doesn't work.
Hmmm... I don't know why it's not working for you. After selecting the front face, then hiding it, I press Crtl to add the other Faces to my selection. Are you using a Mac, if so how do you add to the current selection? It works for me using the 0.17 version in my last reply, and works using this version of 0.18:

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.17.13541 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 9948ee4f1570df9216862a79705afb367b2c6ffb
Python version: 2.7.15rc1
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
hooshsim
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby hooshsim » Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:09 pm

Bejant,
Thank you. Appreciate the effort.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5950
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby bejant » Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:53 pm

You're welcome, post back if you need more help.
chrisb
Posts: 19540
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby chrisb » Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:55 am

bejant wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:40 pm
Hmmm... I don't know why it's not working for you.
Got it: After hiding the face I sometimes did not keep Ctrl (CMD on the Mac) pressed for the selection of the first additional face, thus removing the now hidden face from the selection.
Thanks for explaining.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5950
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Creating a Part from an Existing FreeCAD Model

Postby bejant » Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:41 pm

chrisb wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:55 am
Thanks for explaining.
You're welcome, I wasn't very sure of exactly what you were doing.