Ticket #3691 - Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
JAndersM
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Ticket #3691 - Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby JAndersM » Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:34 pm

Just found this bug issue #0003691 using version 0.18.15780 of FreeCAD.
So I start a discussion here as directed.
Last edited by Kunda1 on Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added ticket number to thread title
chrisb
Posts: 32209
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby chrisb » Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:29 pm

Works as it should. You probably have set the number of decimals wrong.

Besides that it is really annoying that people are unable to read the really huge banner in the bug tracker telling you have to create a forum discussion before creating a ticket.
And if a ticket is created it should contain a link to the forum discussion. In this special case there is no need to do so, I will close the ticket right away.

Sorry for being so explicit.

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15780 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f94e76c1116ec3b818961ff65131b3d86fa5b95e
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
JAndersM
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby JAndersM » Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:56 am

1 No it does not work.
Works as it should. You probably have set the number of decimals wrong.
This is then a problem with the default settings. I have not changed any setting. Just downloaded and installed the latest version on a computer with no previous version installed.
2 I did not submit the bug report. But wanted to get attention to this bug.
3 There is no big yellow banner when you open the page. Might be one when you first submits a bug. As I saw konda1 wanting a forum thread I started one.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby Roy_043 » Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:56 am

I think there is indeed an issue with the default settings.
If you reset the settings (Menu: Edit > Preferences > Reset button) the number of decimals is set to 0.
But if you then go to Menu: Edit > Preferences > General button > Units tab, the number of decimals is wrongly displayed as 2.
I would call this a BUG...
JAndersM
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby JAndersM » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:10 am

:) Thanks!
chrisb
Posts: 32209
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:28 am

JAndersM wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:56 am
2 I did not submit the bug report. But wanted to get attention to this bug.
Sorry to JAndersM, you were the wrong adressee for my complaint.
3 There is no big yellow banner when you open the page. Might be one when you first submits a bug. As I saw konda1 wanting a forum thread I started one.
It takes almost 1/3 of my screen:
ForumFirst.png
ForumFirst.png (267.14 KiB) Viewed 1287 times
1 No it does not work.
You are right, something's wrong.

I have observed the following:
- Initial setups have the number of decimals set to 2. This works as can be seen e.g. in Sketcher setting.

However, these settings do not apply to the scale dialog, where decimals are even more important as in length values. I can fix this by
- open Preferences
- open General->Units without changing anything!
- conform settings with ok

Now the scale dialog shows 6 decimals.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
chrisb
Posts: 32209
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:36 am

I have reopened the ticket.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby Roy_043 » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:41 am

Yes, my initial analysis is not entirely correct, only the scale fields are affected.

Maybe you have to login to see the yellow banner? I don't see it either.
JAndersM
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby JAndersM » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:43 am

It takes almost 1/3 of my screen
Not mine. Might be that I am not logged in to the bug tracker. I just googled the problem and found the bug report.
I have reopened the ticket.
Good.
chrisb
Posts: 32209
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug in draft scale. Only integers work

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:11 pm

Roy_043 wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:41 am
Maybe you have to login to see the yellow banner? I don't see it either.
It would be sufficient if it's only shown for registered users, who want to create a new ticket.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.